Site Search
Annual Report & Action Plan Free E-Newsletter Staff Directory FAQs Press Releases Related Links Site Map Home
Arkansas Historic Preservation Program
Print This Page Forward to a Friend

ARKANSAS DOWNTOWN NETWORK

The Arkansas Downtown Network (ADN) is a new program that works beyond the Main Street Arkansas network to serve a broader base of Arkansas communities that are focused on revitalizing their historic commercial core. We created the program to offer resources and education to communities who are not able to commit to the level of certified Main Street towns in an effort to both revitalize their built environment and build the capacity to become a certified Main Street community.

The mission of Main Street Arkansas is to be the leading resource for communities seeking to revitalize their historic downtown commercial districts and to provide technical assistance and expertise to designated Main Street Arkansas communities through the implementation of the National Trust’s Main Street Center’s comprehensive Four-Point Approach™.   Main Street Arkansas is a preservation-based economic development program housed in the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.

Main Street Arkansas is accepting applications for membership in its Arkansas Downtown Network (ADN).  The Arkansas Downtown Network is a program for downtown revitalization based upon the four points of Main Street – Design, Organization, Promotion and Economic Restructuring.  The ADN is particularly appropriate for smaller towns th at for whatever reason may not yet have the resources to hire a fulltime downtown revitalization staff person. 

The application process is competitive and the applicant communities will be asked to make a short (10 minutes or less) presentation on why they want to enter the Network.  New ADN communities are expected to document a minimum 100 hours a year of volunteer effort to revitalizing their downtown.  We encourage you to contact a member of the Main Street Arkansas staff about your potential application.

 Click here to download the Arkansas Downtown Network application form.

 

Arkansas Downtown Network Members are:
 

ARKADELPHIA
Lauren Land
410 Ouachita St.
Arkadelphia, AR 71998
870-245-5593
landl@obu.edu

Deborah Sesser
700 Clay Street
Arkadelphia, AR 71923
870-260-2079
dsesser@cityofarkadelphia.com

CLARKSVILLE
Travis Stephens
101 North Johnson St.
Clarksville, AR 72830
479-754-2340
Travis@ClarksvilleAR.org

DEWITT

Tami Hornbeck
trhornbeck@hbkseed.com

DeWitt PRIDE
Becky Black, Treasurer 
P.O. Box 245
DeWitt, AR  72042          

FORT SMITH

Jayne S. Hughes
Central Business Improvement District
623 Garrison Avenue
Fort Smith, AR 72901
479-784-1001
479-650-7001 cell
jhughes@fsark.com

HEBER SPRINGS
Mary Margaret Couch
Heber Springs Downtown Network
501 W. Main PMB 265
Heber Springs, AR  72543
501-258-6632 cell
Fax 1-866-722-3604
mary.margaret@suddenlink.net

 

MONTICELLO
Glenda Nichols
335 East Gaines Street
Monticello, AR 71655
870-367-6741
monticellochamber@sbcglobal.net

MORRILTON
Erin Horn
Main Street Morrilton
P.O. Box 89
Morrilton, AR 72110 
501-354-2393
director@mainstreetmorrilton.com
www.mainstreetmorrilton.com

PINE BLUFF
Joy Blankenship
Pine Bluff Downtown Development
110 North Pine
Pine Bluff, AR 71601
870-536-8742
pbdowntown@sbcglobal.net

RECTOR
Janet Manchester
Rector Area Chamber of Commerce
Rector City Hall
409 South Stewart
Rector, AR 72632
870-595-3035
jemanchester@yahoo.com

WARREN
David King
104 North Myrtle
Warren, AR 71671
870-226-5225
bcc.warren@sbcglobal.net

WYNNE
Linda Banton
P.O. Box 9
Wynne, AR 72396
lbanton@crosscountybank.com


These files are available in PDF format. You will need the Acrobat Reader to view the files. It is available, free of charge, at Adobe's website.





Copyright ©2014 Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Web Services by Aristotle Web Design.