Site Search
Annual Report & Action Plan Free E-Newsletter Staff Directory FAQs Press Releases Related Links Site Map Home
Arkansas Historic Preservation Program
Print This Page Forward to a Friend


The "Walks Through History" program is a series of monthly outdoor walking tours that seeks to familiarize people who live and work in communities outside of central Arkansas with the historic structures and sites around them. Presented by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, the tours begin at 11 a.m., unless otherwise noted, on Saturdays, and last between one and two hours. An AHPP staff historian leads the tour, delivering a brief lecture about the properties visited and their history.

View Archived Walks Through History Tour Scripts

Saline County Courthouse, Benton
Saline County Courthouse, Benton

March 21, 2015 - Benton Commercial Historic District

Benton Commercial Historic District
Begin at the Saline County Courthouse, 200 N. Main Street, Benton.
Co-sponsored by the Saline County Library and the Saline County History and Heritage Society.
Anchored by the 1902 Charles Thompson-designed Saline County Courthouse, the district includes commercial-style buildings constructed during the early twentieth century, when Benton prospered due to the county’s abundance of natural resources like timber, clay and bauxite.

Copyright ©2015 Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Web Services by Aristotle Web Design.