Passport Program

On October 15, 1966, President Lyndon Baines Johnson signed the National Historic Preservation Act (NHPA) into law, committing the United States to a reversal of the wholesale destruction of historic properties around the country that followed World War II. The act created state historic preservation offices – including the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage – to coordinate preservation efforts and administer federal historic preservation programs.

Perhaps the best known of these is the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of properties worthy of preservation for future generations. While it has no inherent protections, listing on the National Register raises awareness of a properties’ importance in our history and makes them eligible for tax credits and grant programs that can aid in their preservation.

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the NHPA, the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is sponsoring the Arkansas National Register Passport Program, which invites Arkansans and visitors to go to 26 stamping stations around the state, each housed in a National Register-listed site. Passports will be available at each of the stamping sites, at the 14 Arkansas Welcome Centers operated by the Arkansas Department of Parks and Tourism, or be requesting them through [email protected].

Once you have all 26 stamps, you can detach the card at the back (which should have a duplicate set of stamps) and mail it to Arkansas National Register Passport, 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201 in exchange for a commemorative coin or patch.

And don’t despair if the stamping station is not open when you get there – you can take a “selfie” at the station and enclose it with your passport in lieu of a stamp!

The program will run through December 31, 2020, so there is plenty of time to visit all 26 sites!

Arkansas National Register Passport Stamping Sites

Central Arkansas

  • Fordyce Bathhouse, Hot Springs National Park
  • Curran Hall, Little Rock
  • Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site
  • Toltec Mounds Archeological State Park, Scott
  • Conway County Library, Morrilton
  • Faulkner County Museum, Conway

Northwest Arkansas

  • Devil’s Den State Park, West Fork
  • Drennen-Scott Historic Site, Van Buren
  • Ozark Area Depot Museum, Ozark
  • Carnegie Library, Eureka Springs
  • St. Joe Depot, St. Joe

Southwest Arkansas

  • President William Jefferson Clinton Birthplace National Historic Site, Hope
  • Crater of Diamonds State Park, Murfreesboro
  • John Newton House, El Dorado
  • Lum and Abner Store, Pine Ridge
  • Clark County Historical Museum, Arkadelphia

Southeast Arkansas

  • Pine Bluff Civic Center, Pine Bluff
  • Missouri Pacific Railway Van Noy Eating House (World War II Japanese American Interment Museum), McGehee
  • Old Monticello Post Office, Monticello
  • Old Crossett Post Office, Crossett
  • Delta Cultural Center, Helena-West Helena

Northeast Arkansas

  • Village Creek State Park, Newcastle
  • Greyhound Bus Station, Blytheville
  • Powhatan State Park, Powhatan
  • Old Independence Regional Museum, Batesville
  • Mammoth Spring State Park, Mammoth Spring.

You can share your photos of your visits to Facebook and Instagram with #AuthenticArkansas.

Arkansas national register road warriors!

We congratulate all of those who have visited all 26 stamping sites in the Arkansas National Register Passport Program!

2019 Road Warriors

  • Richard Lewis, Joelton, Tennessee, February 2019
  • Carol Lewis, Joelton, Tennessee, February 2019
  • Lisa Sorensen, Jonesboro, February 2019
  • Mark Benson, Williford, April 2019


Past Road Warriors

  • Dorotha Perrier, Van Buren, March 2016
  • Paul Perrier, Van Buren, March 2016
  • Kim Valente, Glen Head, New York, May 2016
  • Travis Green, Haskell, August 2016
  • Noah Green, Haskell, August 2016
  • Linda Justice, Hot Springs, September 2016
  • Zackery Justice, Hot Springs, September 2016
  • David Shepard, Benton, October 2016
  • Paul Urban, Jacksonville, November 2016
  • John Younkin, Rogers, November 2016
  • Jennie Younkin, Rogers, November 2016
  • Denis Dean, Rogers, December 2016
  • Sherri Dean, Rogers, December 2016
  • Dan Calaway, Benton, December 2016
  • Holly Calaway, Benton, December 2016
  • Morgan Calaway, Benton, December 2016
  • Garrett Calaway, Benton, December 2016
  • Brit Ball, Greenbrier, January 2017
  • Linda Ball, Greenbrier, January 2017
  • Doris Boyles, Little Rock, March 2017
  • Dottie Boyles, Little Rock, March 2017
  • Robert Stephens, Jonesboro, March 2017
  • Lanafae Stephens, Jonesboro, March 2017
  • Charley Duncan, Marion, May 2017
  • Cherell Duncan, Marion, May 2017
  • Dusty Weaver, Conway, October 2017
  • Kivel Weaver, Fayetteville, October 2017
  • Dixie Weaver, Fayetteville, October 2017
  • Ralph Wilcox, Little Rock, November 2017
  • Andrea Westbrook, Little Rock, January 2018
  • Zac Lehr, Little Rock, February 2018
  • Sarah Lehr, Little Rock, February 2018
  • Barbara D. White, Hot Springs, March 2018
  • Arnold Jester, Perryville, September 2018
  • Eleanor Jester, Perryville, September 2018
  • Mason Murnan, Edmond, Oklahoma, November 2018
  • Aiden Murnan, Edmond, Oklahoma, November 2018
  • Misty Blanchard, Little Rock, November 2018
  • Anthony Dale, Bentonville, December 2018
  • Patricia Dale, Bentonville, December 2018
  • Richard Lewis, Joelton, Tennessee, February 2019
  • Carol Lewis, Joelton, Tennessee, February 2019
  • Lisa Sorensen, Jonesboro, February 2019
  • Mark Benson, Williford, April 2019