14 Properties Nominated to National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, December 07, 2017


The State Review Board of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program nominated 14 Arkansas properties in eight counties to the National Register of Historic Places when it met December 6.

Properties nominated to the National Register are:

* Arkansas Teachers Association Headquarters Building and Professional Service Building at Little Rock in Pulaski County, finished in 1965 and displaying the Modern style with Miesian influences

* College Avenue Historic District at Conway in Faulkner County, featuring buildings constructed between 1910 and 1950

* Greenwood School at Hot Springs in Garland County, a 1930 building designed in the Art Deco style by architect Irven D. McDaniel

* Robert Wanslow House at Fort Smith in Sebastian County, a 1962 building constructed in the Mid-Century Modern style of architecture

* Fitzgerald Historic District at Fort Smith in Sebastian County, featuring buildings constructed between 1905 and the 1940s

* Elmwood Cemetery at Fort Smith in Sebastian County, featuring burials dating to 1891 associated with Sebastian County’s Poor Farm

* R.L. Leach Grocery Store at Dutch Mills in Washington County, a ca. 1925 wood-frame commercial building

* Highfill Community Building (Highfill School No. 71) at Highfill in Benton County, a vernacular 1911 educational structure

* Gentry Grand Army of the Republic Monument at Gentry in Benton County, erected in 1918 to honor Union Civil War veterans

* Green Valley Homestead at Sturkie in Fulton County, a complex of log buildings constructed between 1936 and 1943

* Johnny Cash Boyhood Home at Dyess in Mississippi County, a 1934 Colonial Revival-influenced building erected by the Federal Emergency Relief Administration and home of the country music legend

* Blytheville Air Force Base Strategic Air Command (SAC) Alert and Weapons Storage Areas Historic District at Blytheville in Mississippi County, consisting of buildings and structures erected around 1959 as part of a Cold War military base

* Sherman Mound and Village in Mississippi County, an archeological site with evidence of activity between 1200 and 1650 A.D.

The board listed Edwards Chapel at Russellville in Pope County, Lafayette School Gymnasium at Camden in Ouachita County, Lake June at Stamps in Lafayette County and Captain Daniel Matthews House at Osceola in Mississippi County on the Arkansas Register of Historic Places. The Arkansas Register recognizes historically significant properties that do not meet National Register requirements.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division that identifies, evaluates, registers and preserves the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Free Lesson Plan historic telephone booth Folk Victorian Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Poinsett County Arkansas Miller County Marked Tree Lock and Siphons International-Style Architecture North Little Rock Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Rosenwald Schools Little Rock Central High School Camden to Washington Road historic Arkansas properties Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Dr. Ruth Hawkins Morrilton Arkansas Helena Arkansas Arkansas History Freedom Park Monroe County Courthouse Paris Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Monsanto Chemical Corporation Fayetteville Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Montgomery County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Real Estate Transfer Tax Ouachita County Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Flood Control Arkansas Design Network County courthouse Restoration Grants Pope County Arkansas American Legion Historic Preservation Alliance Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Searcy Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House free history tours Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Booneville Arkansas Turner Restoration Arkansas Humanities Council Main Street Ozark Pulaski County Courthouse Duck Hunting Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Newton County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez cemetery preservation Bogg Springs Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Burdette Plantation U.S. Forest Service Henry Koen Office Building Booneville Historical Preservation Society Saline County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses National Historic Landmark Louisiana Main Street program Abolition of Slavery Camden Arkansas Buffalo National River Evelyn Gill Walker House Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Cumberland Presbyterian Church Destination Downtown Conference Huntsville Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Huntsville Commercial Historic District historic architecture Arkansas Railroad History Cemetery Preservation Library historic resort communities Arkansas religious history Arkansas Register of Historic Places Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Centennial Baptist Church Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Wingmead White County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Main Street Batesville downtown revitalization free teacher resources 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Civil Works Administration Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Roe Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Sunken Lands Houston Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Walks Through History Ozark Farming National Register of Historic Places Craftsman style architecture Three States Lumber Company Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Forrest City Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Madison County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Skillern House Rosston Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture African American education Gothic Revival architecture Bogg Springs Hotel Conway County Library cemetery preservsation Barney Elias House Pike County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants St. Francis County Historical Society Burdette Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas 13th Amendment Sandwiching in History Marked Tree Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Rustic Architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Business History Downtown Revitalization Grants Main Street Dumas Doddridge Arkansas downtown economic development National Register of Historic Benton Arkansas Tolbert Gill Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Preservation Awards Prairie County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Delta Cultural Center Main Street Texarkana most endangered historic places Tudor Revival Architecture New Century Club of Camden Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas African American Civil War History Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas History Lesson Plans News Release Clarendon Arkansas Camden Public Library Monroe County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Russellville Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Kiblah School slipcover removal grants Mississippi Main Street Association