AHPP Awards $98,378 in Certified Local Government Grants

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, April 26, 2018

Eleven Arkansas cities will share $98,378 in grants through the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s Certified Local Government (CLG) program, Governor Asa Hutchinson announced today.

Cities receiving CLG grants are:

* Conway, $7,741 for attendance at a national CLG conference, staff and historic district commissioner training, educational materials for historic district owners and residents and a realtor education session

* El Dorado, $8,262 for staff salary, national conference attendance, and training and travel for staff and commissioners

* Eureka Springs, $13,300 for national conference attendance, staff and commissioner training and digitization of city records on properties in the historic district

* Fairfield Bay, $2,200 for staff salary and for staff and commissioner training

* Fayetteville, $5,791 for staff and commissioner training and continuation of a historic structures database and website project

* Helena-West Helena, $4,500 for staff salary, training and office expenses

* Hot Springs, $12,600 for an update of the Central Avenue Historic District National Register of Historic Places nomination, national conference attendance and staff and commissioner training

* Little Rock, $24,255 to begin documentation of buildings in the Broadmoor subdivision and for national conference attendance

* Rogers, $3,600 for brochures about the downtown historic district, national conference attendance, staff and commissioner training, and reference binders for historic district commission guidelines

* Texarkana, $8,370 for national conference attendance, staff and commissioner training and creation of a digital video tour of Texarkana’s historic sites and districts

* Van Buren, $7,760 for national conference attendance and staff and commissioner training.

Certified Local Government Grants are supported by the Historic Preservation Fund, administered by the National Park Service, Department of the Interior. Grant requests totaled $150,526.

The Certified Local Government program is a preservation partnership between local, state and federal agencies focused on promoting historic preservation at the community level. The program is jointly administered by the National Park Service and the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, with local communities working through a certification process to become recognized as a CLG.

Arkansas cities in the CLG program are Little Rock, North Little Rock, Fort Smith, Van Buren, Hot Springs, Eureka Springs, Texarkana, Helena-West Helena, Osceola, El Dorado, Conway, Pine Bluff, Rogers, Morrilton, Blytheville, Fayetteville, Benton, Batesville, Russellville, Dumas and Fairfield Bay. Several others are working to become part of the CLG program.

For more information on the Certified Local Government program, write the AHPP at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, e-mail [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Freedom Park Poinsett County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Dr. Ruth Hawkins 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Burdette Plantation Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Free Courthouse Poster Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Arkansas American Legion most endangered historic places Arkansas Preservation Awards cemetery preservsation Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Fayetteville Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District downtown revitalization Elias Camp Morris free history tours Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas Design Network Morrilton Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Louisiana Main Street program Leake-Ingham Building Pope County Courthouse Nevada County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Downtown Revitalization Grants Abolition of Slavery historic resort communities Phillips County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church National Register of Historic Places Monsanto Chemical Corporation Little Rock Central High School free teacher resources Polk County Arkansas historic architecture Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden Arkansas Main Street Searcy historic telephone booth Buffalo National River Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Duck Hunting Erbie Arkansas Civil Works Administration U.S. Forest Service Sunken Lands Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Business History Camden to Washington Road African American education Miller County Art Deco Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Renaissance Revival Architecture Naturalistic Architecture National Historic Landmark Helena Arkansas cemetery preservation Houston Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Burdette Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Skillern House Russellville Arkansas Camden Public Library Arkansas History Lesson Plans Pike County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Montgomery County Courthouse Evelyn Gill Walker House Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas religious history Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Historic Preservation Prairie County Arkansas Pope County Arkansas downtown economic development Gothic Revival architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Main Street Batesville Kiblah School Saline County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Humanities Council slipcover removal grants Rosenwald Schools Booneville Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Monroe County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Delta Cultural Center Benton Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District historic Arkansas properties Dionicio Rodriguez Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Edgar Monsanto Queeny Ozark Farming Mississippi County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants 19th Century Road Construction Craftsman style architecture National Register of Historic Main Street Dumas Madison County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Conway County Library Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Walks Through History "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants 13th Amendment Three States Lumber Company Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Wingmead Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 News Release Doddridge Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot White County Courthouse Pulaski County Courthouse Pike County Courthouse free historic preservation workshop Paris Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Henry Koen Office Building Huntsville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Booneville Historical Preservation Society Roe Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Tolbert Gill Turner Restoration Rosston Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library steel window restoration workshop U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Civilian Conservation Corps Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Texarkana Arkansas History Main Street Siloam Springs Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas African American Civil War History Barney Elias House Tudor Revival Architecture Monroe County Courthouse Flood Control Rustic Architecture Sandwiching in History Clarendon Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Main Street Ozark St. Francis County Historical Society