AHPP Awards Grants for Three Historic Preservation Projects

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, August 02, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, has awarded $114,528 in grants for three projects through its Historic Preservation Restoration Grant program.

These grants are in addition to $874,795 in Historic Preservation Restoration Grants (HPRG), which distribute funds raised through the Real Estate Transfer Tax to rehabilitate buildings listed on the Arkansas or National Registers of Historic Places and owned by local governments or not-for-profit organizations, that were awarded earlier this year.

Grant recipients were:

* Clarendon First United Methodist Church, $29,428 for roof restoration at the 1912 Clarendon Methodist Episcopal Church, South

* Fayetteville Evergreen Cemetery Association, $35,100 to restore sections of a 1915 stone retaining wall

* First Lutheran Church in Little Rock, $50,000 for masonry repointing and slate roof restoration at the 1888 structure.

For more information on the AHPP’s grant programs, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Montgomery County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Main Street Siloam Springs Clarendon Arkansas cemetery preservsation News Release Camden Arkansas Erbie Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Let Freedom Ring Booneville Historical Preservation Society Barney Elias House Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Prairie County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Burdette Arkansas historic architecture National Historic Landmark Art Deco Architecture North Little Rock Arkansas 13th Amendment Main Street Batesville Historic Preservation Alliance Tudor Revival Architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Dr. Ruth Hawkins Main Street Texarkana Helena Arkansas Turner Restoration Real Estate Transfer Tax Folk Victorian Architecture Camden Public Library downtown revitalization Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas History Lesson Plans free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Preservation Awards Huntsville Arkansas Miller County Benton Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Skillern House Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Bogg Springs Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Railroad History Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Edgar Monsanto Queeny Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Historic Preservation Restoration Grants St. Francis County Historical Society Perry County Arkansas Buffalo National River Civilian Conservation Corps free teacher resources National Register of Historic Places Evelyn Gill Walker House Pulaski County Courthouse Dionicio Rodriguez Conway County Library Pope County Courthouse Destination Downtown Conference Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Pope County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Wingmead American Legion Rustic Architecture Tolbert Gill Free Lesson Plan African American education Centennial Baptist Church Mississippi County Arkansas downtown economic development Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Three States Lumber Company County courthouse Restoration Grants Saline County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas History Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Design Network 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Craftsman style architecture Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Arkansas Historic Preservation Historic County Courthouses Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Monsanto Chemical Corporation free history tours Main Street Ozark Freedom Park Ozark Farming Duck Hunting Walks Through History steel window restoration workshop historic resort communities most endangered historic places Sunken Lands Polk County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas White County Courthouse Naturalistic Architecture Little Rock Central High School historic telephone booth Abolition of Slavery Rosston Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Mid-Century Modern Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot International-Style Architecture Forrest City Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse National Register of Historic Phillips County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Freedmen's Bureau Camden to Washington Road cemetery preservation Flood Control Henry Koen Office Building Fayetteville Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Rosenwald Schools Huntsville Commercial Historic District slipcover removal grants Houston Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Free Courthouse Poster Cumberland Presbyterian Church Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas religious history U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Ouachita County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Main Street Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Main Street Searcy Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Pike County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Kiblah School Bogg Springs Hotel Nevada County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South U.S. Forest Service Burdette Plantation Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Roe Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program historic Arkansas properties Elias Camp Morris Forrest City Cemetery Sandwiching in History Booneville Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Trail of Tears in Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House