AHPP Film Prize Winners to be Shown on AETN

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, September 06, 2017

The Arkansas Educational Television Network will broadcast the winners of the 2017 Arkansas Historic Preservation Film Prize competition beginning at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, October 6, as part of AETN’s “Student Selects: A Young Filmmakers Showcase,” which will be shown in four segments on Fridays, September 8 through October 6.

Films to be featured Oct. 6 include:

* “Monte Ne,” by Fayetteville High School, winner of Arkansas Historic Places Film grand prize.

* “History of St. Joseph's Catholic Church,” by Springdale District Television, winner of Arkansas Historic Places Film first place prize.

* “German Prisoners of War in Arkansas,” by The Delta School (Wilson), winner of Arkansas Historic Places Film second place prize.

Broadcasts also include comedies, family dramas, personal documentaries and historical films, including films recognized with Thea Foundation Young Filmmaker Scholarships and Central High Desegregation 60th Anniversary Film Competition in addition to AHPP’s Historic Preservation Film Prizes.

Ninth through 12th grade students, including homeschooled students, competed for the Arkansas Historic Places Student Film Prize, sponsored by the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, the Arkansas Humanities Council and the Central High National Historic Site.

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources.

Little Rock Central High School National Historic Site is committed to preserving and interpreting the story of the 1957 desegregation crisis at historic Central High School as it relates to the larger story of Civil Rights history in America.

The Arkansas Humanities Council seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present – that define the human condition.

The Arkansas Educational Television Network is Arkansas’s only statewide public media network, which enhances lives by providing lifelong learning opportunities for people from all walks of life. AETN delivers local, award-winning productions and classic, trusted PBS programs aimed at sharing Arkansas and the world with viewers through the distinct channels AETN PBS, AETN Create, AETN PBS KIDS, AETN World and AETN AIRS on SAP. AETN is broadcast on KETS (Little Rock), KEMV (Mountain View), KETG (Arkadelphia), KAFT (Fayetteville), KTEJ (Jonesboro) and KETZ (El Dorado).

Recent Posts


Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum U.S. Forest Service Arkansas Business History New Century Club of Camden Ouachita County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Art Deco Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas religious history Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Benton Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Roe Arkansas Tolbert Gill 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Pike County Courthouse Henry Koen Office Building Elias Camp Morris Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Louisiana Main Street program Cemetery Preservation Library Poinsett County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Forrest City Cemetery cemetery preservation Russellville Arkansas Duck Hunting Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Dr. Ruth Hawkins Madison County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas historic resort communities Free Courthouse Poster Pope County Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Register of Historic Places Saline County Arkansas Main Street Dumas Camden to Washington Road Main Street Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse National Register of Historic Places Marked Tree Lock and Siphons African American education Freedom Park Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Searcy steel window restoration workshop Polk County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Gothic Revival architecture National Register of Historic Burdette Plantation Civilian Conservation Corps Montgomery County Courthouse Nevada County Arkansas free history tours historic telephone booth Skillern House downtown revitalization Arkansas Historic Preservation Pope County Courthouse Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Burdette Arkansas Flood Control Huntsville Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards cemetery preservsation Rosston Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Centennial Baptist Church North Little Rock Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Buffalo National River Camden Public Library Helena Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Siloam Springs Pike County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Marked Tree Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Evelyn Gill Walker House Naturalistic Architecture slipcover removal grants Edgar Monsanto Queeny Monsanto Chemical Corporation Huntsville Commercial Historic District Doddridge Arkansas Paris Arkansas Ozark Farming Erbie Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Wingmead Main Street Ozark Free Lesson Plan Walks Through History White County Courthouse Arkansas Humanities Council News Release Mississippi County Arkansas Kiblah School Downtown Revitalization Grants Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Sandwiching in History 13th Amendment Clarendon Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Trail of Tears in Arkansas Bogg Springs Arkansas Houston Arkansas Little Rock Central High School historic architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Mid-Century Modern Architecture Folk Victorian Architecture Tudor Revival Architecture 19th Century Road Construction downtown economic development Rustic Architecture historic Arkansas properties Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Design Network Destination Downtown Conference Conway County Library County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Batesville Sunken Lands Arkansas History Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Pulaski County Courthouse most endangered historic places Three States Lumber Company Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Freedmen's Bureau Cumberland Presbyterian Church Miller County Civil Works Administration Historic Preservation Alliance International-Style Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Booneville Historical Preservation Society Camden Arkansas National Historic Landmark free teacher resources Barney Elias House Dionicio Rodriguez Craftsman style architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas Railroad History Turner Restoration American Legion Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Abolition of Slavery