AHPP Hosts Cemetery Preservation Lecture, Workshop in Jonesboro

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, March 28, 2017


LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will host a free cemetery preservation lecture and workshop in Jonesboro April 27-29.

The AHPP will host a free cemetery preservation lecture by conservator Jonathan Appell at 6 p.m. on Thursday, April 27, at the Earl Bell Community Center at 1212 South Church Street in Jonesboro.

Appell will lead a free cemetery conservation workshop from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Friday, April 28, and Saturday, April 29, at Jonesboro City Cemetery at Carson and Matthews streets. The workshop will focus on how to clean, re-set and repair tombstones, as well as instructions on cemetery maintenance, suitable cleaning products and proper techniques to use. Registration is limited to 40 people per workshop.

To register for the workshop, or for more information, contact Holly Hope at (501) 324-9880, write her at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to her at [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.


Recent Posts


Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola 13th Amendment Civil Works Administration Main Street Searcy Camden Arkansas African American education Leake-Ingham Building Elias Camp Morris Monsanto Chemical Corporation Dr. Ruth Hawkins American Legion Let Freedom Ring Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Duck Hunting Monroe County Courthouse Destination Downtown Conference North Little Rock Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans New Century Club of Camden Turner Restoration Bogg Springs Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Russellville Arkansas Burdette Plantation International-Style Architecture Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Pope County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Free Lesson Plan Dionicio Rodriguez Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Rosston Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Pulaski County Courthouse Fayetteville Arkansas Walks Through History Montgomery County Courthouse historic architecture National Register of Historic Places cemetery preservation steel window restoration workshop Ouachita County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas religious history Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Prairie County Arkansas News Release Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas free teacher resources most endangered historic places Roe Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Huntsville Arkansas Camden Public Library slipcover removal grants historic Arkansas properties Main Street Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Booneville Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Benton Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Mississippi County Arkansas Buffalo National River Tolbert Gill U.S. Forest Service Henry Koen Office Building Historic County Courthouses downtown economic development Madison County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Barney Elias House Ozark Farming free historic preservation workshop Morrilton Arkansas Kiblah School Poinsett County Arkansas Paris Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Cemetery Preservation Library Abolition of Slavery Centennial Baptist Church National Register of Historic Helena Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Real Estate Transfer Tax "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas Preservation Awards Nevada County Arkansas Sunken Lands Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Freedom Park Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Huntsville Commercial Historic District Conway County Library Rustic Architecture Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Pope County Courthouse Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Main Street Texarkana Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Arkansas Register of Historic Places Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Marked Tree Arkansas Three States Lumber Company White County Courthouse Pike County Courthouse Historic Preservation Alliance Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Delta Cultural Center Edgar Monsanto Queeny Houston Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau National Historic Landmark Main Street Dumas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Newton County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas Design Network 19th Century Road Construction Skillern House Booneville Historical Preservation Society free history tours Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas History Perry County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Evelyn Gill Walker House Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Polk County Arkansas Wingmead Arkansas Railroad History Clarendon Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Free Courthouse Poster Miller County historic resort communities Arkansas Historic Preservation Main Street Ozark Pike County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Cumberland Presbyterian Church Craftsman style architecture Camden to Washington Road Forrest City Cemetery Renaissance Revival Architecture historic telephone booth Monroe County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District County courthouse Restoration Grants St. Francis County Historical Society Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas African American Civil War History Louisiana Main Street program Main Street Siloam Springs downtown revitalization Flood Control Naturalistic Architecture