AHPP Offers Free Cemetery Preservation Workshop in Calhoun County

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Thursday, April 05, 2018

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will host a free cemetery preservation workshop at the Chambersville Cemetery in Calhoun County on May 5.

Rusty Brenner of Texas Cemetery Preservation will lead a free cemetery conservation workshop from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday, May 5, at Chambersville Cemetery at 14575 Calhoun County Road 85. The workshop will focus on how to clean, re-set and repair tombstones, as well as instructions on cemetery maintenance, suitable cleaning products and proper techniques to use. Registration is limited to 40 people per workshop.

To register for the workshop, or for more information, contact Holly Hope at (501) 324-9880, write her at 1100 North St., Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to her at [email protected]

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Tolbert Gill Arkansas Humanities Council free history tours Arkansas religious history Three States Lumber Company Historic County Courthouses Huntsville Commercial Historic District Naturalistic Architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Conway County Library Main Street Siloam Springs Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Renaissance Revival Architecture Walks Through History Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Arkansas Historic Preservation Pope County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Freedmen's Bureau Let Freedom Ring historic resort communities Monroe County Courthouse Benton Arkansas American Legion Arkansas History Lesson Plans Miller County Paris Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 slipcover removal grants most endangered historic places Main Street Ozark Barney Elias House Huntsville Arkansas historic telephone booth 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Camden Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Cemetery Preservation Library Bogg Springs Hotel Real Estate Transfer Tax Civilian Conservation Corps Abolition of Slavery historic Arkansas properties U.S. Army Corps of Engineers U.S. Forest Service White County Courthouse Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Arkansas Design Network Tudor Revival Architecture Civil Works Administration 13th Amendment Pulaski County Courthouse National Register of Historic Ouachita County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster downtown revitalization Duck Hunting Kiblah School Rosston Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Burdette Plantation Main Street Searcy Prairie County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Flood Control Skillern House free teacher resources Camden Public Library African American education Pope County Courthouse Freedom Park Roe Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Buffalo National River Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas African American Civil War History Pike County Arkansas downtown economic development Booneville Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Erbie Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Arkansas Business History Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Texarkana Arkansas Railroad History Morrilton Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Helena Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Sunken Lands Poinsett County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Mississippi Main Street Association steel window restoration workshop International-Style Architecture cemetery preservsation National Register of Historic Places Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Dionicio Rodriguez Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Leake-Ingham Building Cumberland Presbyterian Church free historic preservation workshop Newton County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Sandwiching in History Rosenwald Schools Wingmead Forrest City Cemetery Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Perry County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Houston Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Folk Victorian Architecture Ozark Farming Louisiana Main Street program St. Francis County Historical Society Destination Downtown Conference Madison County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Downtown Revitalization Grants historic architecture Turner Restoration Main Street Batesville Bogg Springs Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Forrest City Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Preservation Awards Gothic Revival architecture Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Free Lesson Plan Camden to Washington Road cemetery preservation Delta Cultural Center 19th Century Road Construction Rustic Architecture Trail of Tears in Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Mid-Century Modern Architecture National Historic Landmark Doddridge Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Main Street Dumas Main Street Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Henry Koen Office Building News Release