AHPP Offers Free National Register Training

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, August 23, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will offer a free training session Saturday, September 9, for anyone interested in nominating a property to the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant sites.

The training session will be held beginning at 9 a.m. in the Diamond Room at the Department of Arkansas Heritage Building at 1100 North Street in Little Rock. The session will include background information on the National Register, the criteria for listing properties on the National Register, and instruction on completing a successful National Register application.

For more information on the free session, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880 or send an e-mail message to [email protected]. Registration is limited to the first 40 applicants.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Erbie Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Arkansas Design Network Free Courthouse Poster Rosenwald Schools Montgomery County Courthouse Freedom Park Phillips County Arkansas Conway County Library Mid-Century Modern Architecture Camden Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Ouachita County Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Historic Preservation Perry County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Historic County Courthouses Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Renaissance Revival Architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Helena Arkansas free teacher resources North Little Rock Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Edgar Monsanto Queeny County courthouse Restoration Grants Booneville Arkansas Paris Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery most endangered historic places Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Monsanto Chemical Corporation Dr. Ruth Hawkins Main Street Ozark Miller County cemetery preservation St. Francis County Historical Society Henry Koen Office Building Prairie County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Register of Historic Places Duck Hunting Pike County Courthouse Centennial Baptist Church Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Main Street Siloam Springs Burdette Arkansas Kiblah School Arkansas Business History Monroe County Courthouse Skillern House Craftsman style architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House White County Courthouse Downtown Revitalization Grants historic resort communities U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Cemetery Preservation Library Mississippi Main Street Association cemetery preservsation Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Doddridge Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Freedmen's Bureau Clarendon Arkansas Rustic Architecture Fayetteville Arkansas Abolition of Slavery historic Arkansas properties Forrest City Arkansas 13th Amendment 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Sandwiching in History Walks Through History Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Batesville downtown economic development Three States Lumber Company Folk Victorian Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Pike County Arkansas Roe Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Houston Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mississippi County Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Madison County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Burdette Plantation American Legion Buffalo National River Camden to Washington Road "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants International-Style Architecture Gothic Revival architecture Newton County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Flood Control Booneville Historical Preservation Society Pope County Courthouse free history tours Polk County Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance 19th Century Road Construction Russellville Arkansas Main Street Dumas Louisiana Main Street program Leake-Ingham Building historic telephone booth free historic preservation workshop Little Rock Central High School Pope County Arkansas African American education Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Preservation Awards Huntsville Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel historic architecture steel window restoration workshop Destination Downtown Conference Monroe County Arkansas National Register of Historic Civil Works Administration Free Lesson Plan slipcover removal grants Let Freedom Ring Rosston Arkansas Wingmead Tudor Revival Architecture Tolbert Gill Art Deco Architecture Benton Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Huntsville Commercial Historic District Barney Elias House Camden Public Library Arkansas religious history Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Searcy Ozark Farming Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Montgomery County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Turner Restoration National Historic Landmark Delta Cultural Center Nevada County Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission downtown revitalization News Release Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Dionicio Rodriguez Sunken Lands