AHPP Pioneer Program Set for Six Mississippi County Libraries

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Amy Milliken, education coordinator for the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, will present a program on Arkansas pioneers at six Mississippi County libraries during June.

Milliken will present “Arkansas Pioneers: Homes and Ways of Life,” a program on historic Arkansas places related to the early settlers of Arkansas, at the libraries. Milliken will make presentations:

* Monday, June 25, 1:30 p.m. at the Leachville Library at 105 S. Main St. in Leachville and 3 p.m. at the Manila Public Library at 103 S. Dewey St. in Manila

* Tuesday, June 26, 10 a.m. at the Mississippi County Library at 200 N. Fifth St. in Blytheville and 2 p.m. at the Osceola Public Library at 320 W. Hale Ave. in Osceola

* Wednesday, June 26, 1:30 p.m. at the Keiser Library at 112 Main St. in Keiser and 3 p.m. at the Wilson Library at 1 Park St. in Wilson.

For more information, contact Milliken at (501) 324-9880 or [email protected] or Beth Roberts at (870) 476-8999.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Huntsville Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Marked Tree Arkansas Flood Control Newton County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Paris Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Clarendon Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Edgar Monsanto Queeny Phillips County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Burdette Plantation Monroe County Courthouse Mississippi County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture most endangered historic places Mid-Century Modern Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Register of Historic Places Abolition of Slavery Art Deco Architecture Little Rock Central High School Miller County News Release Arkansas Business History Freedmen's Bureau St. Francis County Historical Society Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Skillern House Historic Preservation Alliance Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas History Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Historic Preservation Monsanto Chemical Corporation Benton Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Ozark Farming Henry Koen Office Building Conway County Library U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Destination Downtown Conference Camden Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Main Street Texarkana County courthouse Restoration Grants Barney Elias House Craftsman style architecture free history tours Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Main Street Siloam Springs Madison County Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Humanities Council Rustic Architecture National Register of Historic Places Booneville Historical Preservation Society Arkansas Railroad History slipcover removal grants Prairie County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses historic telephone booth Free Lesson Plan Main Street Batesville Forrest City Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Rosenwald Schools Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Preservation Awards Tolbert Gill Fayetteville Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Design Network Arkansas African American Civil War History downtown revitalization Bogg Springs Hotel Helena Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Let Freedom Ring Montgomery County Courthouse Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Booneville Arkansas Saline County Arkansas American Legion Camden to Washington Road historic architecture National Register of Historic Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Pope County Courthouse Duck Hunting Morrilton Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Main Street Searcy Main Street Dumas National Historic Landmark Gothic Revival architecture Burdette Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building historic Arkansas properties Civilian Conservation Corps Sandwiching in History Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Main Street Ozark Arkansas History Lesson Plans Freedom Park Walks Through History Cumberland Presbyterian Church Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum downtown economic development Dr. Ruth Hawkins "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Pike County Arkansas Wingmead Montgomery County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Camden Public Library North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Arkansas free teacher resources Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Three States Lumber Company Poinsett County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Russellville Arkansas Sunken Lands Bogg Springs Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Perry County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Naturalistic Architecture Turner Restoration African American education Ouachita County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Roe Arkansas cemetery preservation Buffalo National River Dionicio Rodriguez U.S. Forest Service Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Erbie Arkansas cemetery preservsation Arkansas religious history Huntsville Commercial Historic District Pope County Arkansas Centennial Baptist Church Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Downtown Revitalization Grants Kiblah School Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Tudor Revival Architecture Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 International-Style Architecture Houston Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture 13th Amendment Doddridge Arkansas Elias Camp Morris historic resort communities Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas White County Courthouse