AHPP to Hold Cemetery Preservation Workshops in Forrest City, Fayetteville

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, March 10, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program will host a free cemetery preservation lecture and hands-on cemetery preservation workshops in Forrest City and Fayetteville during April, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

A free lecture by veteran gravestone conservator Jonathan Appell of West Hartford, Connecticut, will be held at 6 p.m. on Friday, April 17, in the County Quorum Courtroom of the St. Francis County Courthouse at 313 South Izard Street in Forrest City. Appell will address the evolution of gravestone architecture in the U.S., gravestone materials and repair techniques.

Appell will lead the free workshop from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday, April 18, at the Forrest City Cemetery at South Izard Street and East South Avenue. The workshop will focus on how to clean, re-set and repair tombstones, as well as instructions on cemetery maintenance, suitable cleaning products and proper techniques to use. Registration for the workshop is limited to the first 40 people to sign up.

Rusty Brenner of Texas Cemetery Restoration will lead a free workshop from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Saturday, April 25, at the Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery at 1285 Milsap Road in Fayetteville. The workshop will focus on how to clean tombstones from 9 a.m. to noon and how to re-set and repair tombstones from 1 to 4 p.m. Brenner will also provide instructions on cemetery maintenance, suitable cleaning products and proper techniques to use. Registration for the workshop is limited to the first 40 people to sign up.

To register for the workshop, or for more information, contact Holly Hope at (501) 324-9880, write her at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to her at [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Main Street Dumas Naturalistic Architecture historic resort communities Houston Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas downtown revitalization "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Madison County Arkansas Arkansas religious history National Historic Landmark Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Civilian Conservation Corps Pope County Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Camden to Washington Road Booneville Historical Preservation Society Saline County Arkansas Turner Restoration Arkansas Business History Arkansas Register of Historic Places Trail of Tears in Arkansas Main Street Batesville Destination Downtown Conference historic telephone booth Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Russellville Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Evelyn Gill Walker House Arkansas History Lesson Plans most endangered historic places Burdette Arkansas Buffalo National River Ouachita County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Duck Hunting Main Street Siloam Springs Gothic Revival architecture Ozark Farming slipcover removal grants Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Leake-Ingham Building Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Railroad History Folk Victorian Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Miller County Freedmen's Bureau historic Arkansas properties Mosaic Templars Cultural Center steel window restoration workshop Historic Preservation Alliance Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Barney Elias House Flood Control Rosenwald Schools Tolbert Gill Conway County Library Civil Works Administration Montgomery County Courthouse Sandwiching in History Main Street Arkansas Walks Through History Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Searcy Benton Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Ozark Tudor Revival Architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Bogg Springs Hotel National Register of Historic Craftsman style architecture Rosston Arkansas Freedom Park Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum International-Style Architecture Newton County Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Free Courthouse Poster Pope County Courthouse Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Cumberland Presbyterian Church 19th Century Road Construction Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Marked Tree Arkansas Main Street Texarkana cemetery preservsation National Register of Historic Places Pike County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Historic County Courthouses 13th Amendment Little Rock Central High School Wingmead Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Arkansas Design Network Erbie Arkansas historic architecture Paris Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Polk County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas White County Courthouse Doddridge Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Downtown Revitalization Grants Renaissance Revival Architecture Art Deco Architecture News Release Arkansas Humanities Council 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Huntsville Arkansas Rustic Architecture downtown economic development Arkansas History African American education free history tours Arkansas Historic Preservation Phillips County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Fayetteville Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Dionicio Rodriguez Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops North Little Rock Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins Pike County Courthouse Forrest City Cemetery Morrilton Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Poinsett County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Kiblah School U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Pulaski County Courthouse cemetery preservation Elias Camp Morris Louisiana Main Street program Let Freedom Ring Monsanto Chemical Corporation Real Estate Transfer Tax Delta Cultural Center Nevada County Arkansas Roe Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Clarendon Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Sunken Lands Skillern House Burdette Plantation free teacher resources American Legion Mississippi Main Street Association New Century Club of Camden Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Centennial Baptist Church Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Booneville Arkansas Camden Public Library Free Lesson Plan