AHPP to Present Cemetery Program in El Dorado

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, April 28, 2015

LITTLE ROCK–Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Special Projects Historian Holly Hope will present a free cemetery preservation lecture in El Dorado on May 3, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Hope will present “Bringing it Back: Basic Cemetery Maintenance” for the Union County Genealogical Society at 2:30 p.m. on Sunday, May 3, at Barton Library at 200 East Fifth Street in El Dorado. The presentation includes information on cleaning and documenting gravestones, safety, repair and straightening techniques, materials and tools, and landscaping issues, in addition to information on listing cemeteries on the National Register of Historic Places. For more information, contact Hope at (501) 324-9880 or [email protected] or Charlotte Baine at [email protected].

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas religious history Main Street Batesville Erbie Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons News Release Evelyn Gill Walker House Buffalo National River Camden to Washington Road Fayetteville Arkansas Ozark Farming Arkansas Railroad History Let Freedom Ring slipcover removal grants Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Monsanto Chemical Corporation Helena Arkansas Main Street Searcy Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Destination Downtown Conference Centennial Baptist Church Wingmead Main Street Ozark Delta Cultural Center Miller County Prairie County Arkansas historic telephone booth Walks Through History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Paris Arkansas Duck Hunting Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House North Little Rock Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Freedmen's Bureau Historic County Courthouses Conway County Library Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Burdette Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Camden Public Library County courthouse Restoration Grants Bogg Springs Hotel Main Street Texarkana Art Deco Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Main Street Siloam Springs Clarendon Arkansas Houston Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas History most endangered historic places Civilian Conservation Corps Bogg Springs Arkansas free historic preservation workshop 13th Amendment Renaissance Revival Architecture Poinsett County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Little Rock Central High School Morrilton Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Dr. Ruth Hawkins Rustic Architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture Dionicio Rodriguez free teacher resources Abolition of Slavery downtown economic development Montgomery County Courthouse Free Courthouse Poster Folk Victorian Architecture Booneville Arkansas Kiblah School downtown revitalization Perry County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans historic architecture Arkansas Business History Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Design Network Flood Control Downtown Revitalization Grants Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South National Historic Landmark African American education Civil Works Administration Pike County Courthouse Rosenwald Schools Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Nevada County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Main Street Dumas Phillips County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax free history tours Tudor Revival Architecture Barney Elias House Pope County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Roe Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society steel window restoration workshop Burdette Plantation Turner Restoration Main Street Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Arkansas Register of Historic Places U.S. Forest Service Naturalistic Architecture Ouachita County Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Pope County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Historic Preservation Marked Tree Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Huntsville Arkansas cemetery preservsation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas African American Civil War History White County Courthouse "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants historic Arkansas properties Camden Arkansas Freedom Park Huntsville Commercial Historic District Polk County Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Doddridge Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Cemetery Preservation Library cemetery preservation Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Sunken Lands Gothic Revival architecture Skillern House New Century Club of Camden American Legion Benton Arkansas National Register of Historic National Register of Historic Places Leake-Ingham Building 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Madison County Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Free Lesson Plan historic resort communities Pike County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Tolbert Gill 19th Century Road Construction International-Style Architecture Monroe County Courthouse