Camp Chaffee Expansion Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, May 12, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—An expansion of the Camp Chaffee Historic District at Fort Smith in Sebastian County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Frances McSwain announced today.

The Camp Chaffee addition adds nine contributing buildings and one contributing structure to the existing Camp Chaffee Historic District in an area bounded roughly by Ward Avenue, a railroad spur, Taylor Avenue and Terry Street.

“The Post Headquarter area along with the other affiliated buildings provides an opportunity to explain military history to those that come to see what is left of what was Camp Chaffee and later Fort Chaffee,” according to the National Register nomination. “With the divisions serving in all magnitudes of military and social life throughout the Camp Chaffee area, it is easy to see the history start to fade, as Camp Chaffee is lost in the record books. Thus keeping the barracks and other buildings associated with the life of a soldier during World War II only helps continue to maintain the military heritage that the area around Fort Chaffee has been living since 1817.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Pulaski County Courthouse Dr. Ruth Hawkins Pope County Courthouse free teacher resources Little Rock Central High School Mid-Century Modern Architecture historic Arkansas properties Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Railroad History Rustic Architecture Main Street Texarkana Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Duck Hunting Miller County Elias Camp Morris National Register of Historic Places Craftsman style architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans African American education Saline County Arkansas Ozark Farming Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Historic Preservation Trail of Tears in Arkansas White County Courthouse Camden Public Library Kiblah School cemetery preservation Leake-Ingham Building Forrest City Cemetery downtown revitalization Rosston Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses 19th Century Road Construction cemetery preservsation Ouachita County Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants County courthouse Restoration Grants Montgomery County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Buffalo National River 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation American Legion Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historic Preservation Alliance free historic preservation workshop Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Ozark Monsanto Chemical Corporation historic resort communities Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Searcy Bogg Springs Arkansas Madison County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Camden Arkansas Paris Arkansas Arkansas Business History Marked Tree Arkansas 13th Amendment Conway County Library Erbie Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Gothic Revival architecture steel window restoration workshop Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Benton Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Bogg Springs Hotel Walks Through History Booneville Historical Preservation Society Huntsville Commercial Historic District Centennial Baptist Church Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Burdette Plantation Fayetteville Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Poinsett County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools Edgar Monsanto Queeny historic architecture North Little Rock Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Tolbert Gill Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Pope County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas Register of Historic Places Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Booneville Arkansas most endangered historic places Polk County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Turner Restoration Tudor Revival Architecture Pike County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Houston Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Main Street Batesville free history tours Free Lesson Plan Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Arkansas Design Network Abolition of Slavery Montgomery County Courthouse U.S. Forest Service Louisiana Main Street program Pike County Courthouse Let Freedom Ring Arkansas religious history historic telephone booth Phillips County Arkansas Arkansas History Civilian Conservation Corps Folk Victorian Architecture "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Main Street Siloam Springs Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Perry County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Sunken Lands Arkansas African American Civil War History New Century Club of Camden Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Clarendon Arkansas International-Style Architecture National Register of Historic Freedmen's Bureau News Release Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Huntsville Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Skillern House Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Naturalistic Architecture Newton County Arkansas Art Deco Architecture National Historic Landmark Mississippi County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Wingmead Dionicio Rodriguez Freedom Park slipcover removal grants downtown economic development Russellville Arkansas Roe Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Barney Elias House Doddridge Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Main Street Dumas Flood Control Arkansas Humanities Council Helena Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Preservation Awards Prairie County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Civil Works Administration