Eureka Springs Cemetery Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, June 13, 2018

The Eureka Springs Cemetery at Eureka Springs in Carroll County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Eureka Springs Cemetery, located northwest of the junction of U.S. Highway 62 and County Road 205, contains burials dating to the 1880s.

“The rural cemetery, composed of monuments of artistic and cultural significance within a designed landscape, is set against the natural beauty of the Ozark mountains,” according to the National Register nomination. “Many of the monuments can be attributed to local and regional sculptors and stonemasons. The cemetery contains excellent examples of funerary art, monument and statuary designed during the period of significance, ranging from modest marble grave markers to elaborate marble obelisks and limestone monuments. The extant resources represent changing attitudes toward death and burial practices through the period of significance. The organization and layout of the site, as well as tombstone decoration, symbolism and inscriptions provide documentation of the traditions and beliefs important to the citizens of Eureka Springs, including members of fraternal organizations and various religious denominations.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Skillern House Marked Tree Arkansas most endangered historic places Montgomery County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Tudor Revival Architecture Craftsman style architecture Gothic Revival architecture Camden Arkansas Main Street Dumas Pike County Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps Arkansas Design Network Delta Cultural Center Clarendon Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas African American Civil War History Camden Public Library Cemetery Preservation Library Ozark Farming St. Francis County Historical Society Free Lesson Plan Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Monroe County Courthouse Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas History Edgar Monsanto Queeny Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Pulaski County Courthouse Arkansas State University Heritage Sites cemetery preservsation Arkansas Historic Preservation Program National Register of Historic Places Erbie Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Flood Control U.S. Army Corps of Engineers historic Arkansas properties Camden to Washington Road Louisiana Main Street program Pope County Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Rustic Architecture Roe Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Helena Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Booneville Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society free teacher resources Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Cumberland Presbyterian Church downtown revitalization Fayetteville Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Main Street Searcy Main Street Batesville Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission steel window restoration workshop historic architecture White County Courthouse Arkansas religious history Main Street Siloam Springs Prairie County Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas National Historic Landmark Duck Hunting cemetery preservation Bogg Springs Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas historic resort communities Free Courthouse Poster Freedom Park Main Street Ozark Arkansas Humanities Council downtown economic development Civil Works Administration 13th Amendment Downtown Revitalization Grants Walks Through History American Legion Main Street Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Register of Historic Places Pike County Courthouse Forrest City Cemetery Bogg Springs Hotel Leake-Ingham Building Huntsville Arkansas International-Style Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Mosaic Templars Cultural Center National Register of Historic Conway County Library Doddridge Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas History Lesson Plans "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Evelyn Gill Walker House Abolition of Slavery Little Rock Central High School Benton Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Barney Elias House Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Phillips County Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Art Deco Architecture Paris Arkansas Arkansas Business History Trail of Tears in Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Main Street Texarkana Sunken Lands Polk County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Burdette Plantation Mississippi Main Street Association Ouachita County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas historic telephone booth Sandwiching in History Arkansas Railroad History Burdette Arkansas Tolbert Gill Historic County Courthouses Wingmead Centennial Baptist Church Madison County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas African American education Naturalistic Architecture Pope County Courthouse Central High School Neighborhood Historic District free history tours Arkansas Preservation Awards Mississippi County Arkansas slipcover removal grants News Release Elias Camp Morris Real Estate Transfer Tax Miller County Monsanto Chemical Corporation Poinsett County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture free historic preservation workshop Turner Restoration Buffalo National River Russellville Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Renaissance Revival Architecture 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Mid-Century Modern Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Houston Arkansas Rosenwald Schools U.S. Forest Service New Century Club of Camden Henry Koen Office Building County courthouse Restoration Grants Kiblah School Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax