Expanded Governors Mansion Historic District Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, May 14, 2018

LITTLE ROCK—An expansion of the Governor’s Mansion Historic District at Little Rock in Pulaski County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The expanded Governor’s Mansion Historic District is now bounded by the Mansion Grounds, 13th, Center, Gaines and 18th streets and recognizes buildings constructed as late as 1965. The district was originally listed in 1978 and had previous expansions in 1988 and 2002.

“In the expanded area, the modern era is represented by 29 resources that date from 1940 to 1965, reflecting the continued investment that was placed in the Governor’s Mansion Historic District during the period,” according to the National Register nomination. “As a result of this period, a number of American Small House (Minimal Traditional) and Ranch house forms were added to the area, serving as affordable and efficient constructions in a post-World War II world that valued different modes of construction. It was also during this period that many of the dwellings in the district, as amended, took on their final forms, characterized by nominal material changes and functional additions that reflect mid twentieth century residency and adaptation.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Tudor Revival Architecture Delta Cultural Center Monsanto Chemical Corporation 13th Amendment free historic preservation workshop Real Estate Transfer Tax Freedmen's Bureau Mississippi Main Street Association Doddridge Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council National Register of Historic Wingmead Bogg Springs Hotel Skillern House Historic Preservation Restoration Grants cemetery preservsation Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Camden Arkansas Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Marked Tree Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Freedom Park Renaissance Revival Architecture Barney Elias House Historic County Courthouses Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Pike County Arkansas Duck Hunting Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Destination Downtown Conference North Little Rock Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Dumas Tolbert Gill downtown revitalization African American education Booneville Historical Preservation Society Perry County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax National Register of Historic Places Arkansas Preservation Awards Trail of Tears in Arkansas Arkansas Register of Historic Places Little Rock Central High School Pulaski County Courthouse Pope County Courthouse "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Huntsville Arkansas Camden Public Library Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance Montgomery County Arkansas Sunken Lands Miller County Main Street Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Morrilton Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas News Release Prairie County Arkansas Walks Through History Booneville Arkansas Rustic Architecture Elias Camp Morris Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Paris Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Saline County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Russellville Arkansas free history tours Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas History Lesson Plans Bogg Springs Arkansas Helena Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Sandwiching in History Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Dionicio Rodriguez Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Civilian Conservation Corps Conway County Library Main Street Searcy Buffalo National River Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Fayetteville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Turner Restoration Roe Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Main Street Batesville slipcover removal grants Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Pike County Courthouse historic resort communities Montgomery County Courthouse Phillips County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Main Street Texarkana 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Clarendon Arkansas steel window restoration workshop U.S. Forest Service Arkansas African American Civil War History Abolition of Slavery Newton County Arkansas National Historic Landmark historic architecture cemetery preservation Arkansas religious history Arkansas Railroad History Ouachita County Arkansas Flood Control Downtown Revitalization Grants Forrest City Cemetery Centennial Baptist Church Naturalistic Architecture Madison County Arkansas Arkansas History most endangered historic places Main Street Ozark Three States Lumber Company Huntsville Commercial Historic District Free Courthouse Poster historic Arkansas properties Ozark Farming Civil Works Administration Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Design Network Houston Arkansas International-Style Architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House downtown economic development Free Lesson Plan Arkansas Humanities Council American Legion Let Freedom Ring Pope County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Leake-Ingham Building 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Historic Preservation Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Mid-Century Modern Architecture Benton Arkansas Monroe County Courthouse Arkansas Business History Louisiana Main Street program Erbie Arkansas historic telephone booth Henry Koen Office Building Edgar Monsanto Queeny Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Monroe County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Cemetery Preservation Library free teacher resources Kiblah School Rosenwald Schools White County Courthouse Poinsett County Arkansas