Fairfield Bay Joins Certified Local Government Program

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, March 20, 2018

Fairfield Bay has joined the Certified Local Government (CLG) program, which recognizes a concentrated local effort to protect the city’s historic resources.

In Arkansas, city or county governments are eligible for CLG status if they have a historic district commission with design review authority over a designated historic district. In November 2017, the Fairfield Bay City Council passed an ordinance to create a historic district commission. In February 2018, the City Council passed an additional ordinance to designate the Fairfield Bay Heritage Center Historic District as a locally protected historic district and to place the district under the design review authority of the Fairfield Bay Heritage Center Historic District Commission.

The Certified Local Government program is a preservation partnership between local, state and federal agencies focused on promoting historic preservation at the community level. The program is jointly administered by the National Park Service and the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, with local communities working through a certification process to become recognized as a CLG.

The other Arkansas cities in the CLG program are Little Rock, North Little Rock, Fort Smith, Van Buren, Hot Springs, Eureka Springs, Texarkana, Helena-West Helena, Osceola, El Dorado, Conway, Pine Bluff, Rogers, Morrilton, Blytheville, Fayetteville, Benton, Batesville, Russellville and Dumas. Several others are working to become part of the CLG program.

For more information on the Certified Local Government program, write the AHPP at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880, e-mail [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


steel window restoration workshop historic Arkansas properties Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Monroe County Courthouse Conway County Library Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Camden Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Gothic Revival architecture Turner Restoration Perry County Arkansas Pulaski County Courthouse Wingmead Dr. Ruth Hawkins Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Humanities Council Destination Downtown Conference Craftsman style architecture downtown economic development Main Street Ozark Arkansas Historic Preservation Forrest City Cemetery Ouachita County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Nevada County Arkansas Burdette Plantation Morrilton Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Historic Preservation Restoration Grants free historic preservation workshop White County Courthouse Burdette Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Booneville Historical Preservation Society Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops most endangered historic places Prairie County Arkansas Buffalo National River Free Lesson Plan Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Mississippi County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Mississippi Main Street Association Skillern House Louisiana Main Street program Erbie Arkansas historic telephone booth Main Street Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Flood Control free history tours Clarendon Arkansas Pike County Courthouse Arkansas African American Civil War History Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Kiblah School Miller County Trail of Tears in Arkansas News Release St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Monsanto Chemical Corporation Sandwiching in History Doddridge Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Walks Through History Arkansas Register of Historic Places Arkansas Preservation Awards cemetery preservation Edgar Monsanto Queeny North Little Rock Arkansas Helena Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Huntsville Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Business History International-Style Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Sunken Lands historic resort communities County courthouse Restoration Grants Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Roe Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Delta Cultural Center Poinsett County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Fayetteville Arkansas Civil Works Administration Ozark Farming Phillips County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company 19th Century Road Construction Monroe County Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture Pope County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Little Rock Central High School cemetery preservsation Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas Historic Preservation Program National Historic Landmark free teacher resources Forrest City Arkansas Main Street Batesville Camden Public Library "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants National Register of Historic Places 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Saline County Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Duck Hunting Arkansas Design Network U.S. Forest Service Camden to Washington Road Houston Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Tolbert Gill Centennial Baptist Church Mid-Century Modern Architecture African American education Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Elias Camp Morris Arkansas religious history Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas History Lesson Plans Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Rosenwald Schools Montgomery County Arkansas Freedom Park Let Freedom Ring Evelyn Gill Walker House Naturalistic Architecture downtown revitalization Arkansas History Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Railroad History New Century Club of Camden Rustic Architecture Dionicio Rodriguez 13th Amendment American Legion Pope County Courthouse Leake-Ingham Building Main Street Dumas Bogg Springs Arkansas Main Street Searcy Huntsville Commercial Historic District Cemetery Preservation Library Tudor Revival Architecture National Register of Historic Paris Arkansas Historic County Courthouses historic architecture Civilian Conservation Corps Booneville Arkansas slipcover removal grants Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Main Street Texarkana Barney Elias House Polk County Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse