Main Street Arkansas Sees Nearly $69 Million Invested in 2017

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, February 12, 2018

Main Street Arkansas cities recorded $68,731,656 in investments in downtown projects in 2017. Main Street Arkansas is a program area of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage.

“Investments in the historic commercial cores of our Main Street Arkansas towns show a renewed commitment to historic preservation around the state and the investments shown in 2017 show downtowns are major centers of economic development,” Department of Arkansas Heritage Director Stacy Hurst said.

Main Street Arkansas cities in 2017 noted 215 façade renovations, building rehabilitations and new downtown construction projects, reflecting investments of $68,731,656. The cities documented a net gain of 54 businesses and 37 business expansions and relocations into downtown areas, creating a net gain of 522 jobs. In addition, there were 35 public improvement projects generated in Main Street Arkansas cities, reflecting $1,528,038 invested in the historic commercial areas. Main Street cities also recorded 20,856 volunteer hours invested in downtown.

Since its inception in 1984, Main Street Arkansas cities have yielded a net gain of 7,085 jobs, a net gain of 1,367 new businesses and 1,239 business expansions and relocations into downtown. A total of $246,576,733 in investment has financed 2,576 façade renovations, rehabilitations and new construction projects. The Main Street cities have seen 1,009 public improvement projects valued at $35,224,887 and 634,170 volunteer hours on Main Street matters.

Main Street Arkansas provides technical assistance and design services to help create economic development in the state’s downtown areas. The Main Street approach to downtown revitalization focuses on four areas: design, economic restructuring, organization and promotion.

Cities currently involved in Main Street Arkansas are Batesville, Blytheville, Conway, Dumas, El Dorado, Eureka Springs, Helena-West Helena, Jonesboro, Downtown Little Rock Partnership, Little Rock’s South Main Street (SoMa), Osceola, Ozark, Paragould, Rogers, Russellville, Searcy, Siloam Springs, Texarkana and West Memphis. Members of Main Street’s Arkansas Downtown Network are Hardy, Pine Bluff, Heber Springs, Fort Smith, Morrilton, Rector, Monticello, Arkadelphia, Clarksville, Warren, Wynne, Forrest City, Malvern, Pocahontas, Newport and Paris. Other sponsors of the Main Street Arkansas program are Preserve Arkansas and the Arkansas Economic Development Commission. To learn more about Main Street Arkansas, visit

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program is the division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage responsible for the identification, evaluation, registration and preservation of the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies in the department are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Mid-Century Modern Architecture Monroe County Courthouse 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Wingmead Saline County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Edgar Monsanto Queeny Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas Business History Skillern House Conway County Library Main Street Ozark Erbie Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Mississippi Main Street Association Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Preservation Awards Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Kiblah School Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Trail of Tears in Arkansas downtown economic development Montgomery County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Barney Elias House American Legion St. Francis County Historical Society Craftsman style architecture Main Street Dumas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Camden to Washington Road Poinsett County Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Dr. Ruth Hawkins Elias Camp Morris Roe Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Main Street Batesville Forrest City Arkansas Houston Arkansas historic telephone booth National Register of Historic Places Paris Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Arkansas History Lesson Plans Monroe County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Sandwiching in History Let Freedom Ring Booneville Arkansas White County Courthouse Miller County Booneville Historical Preservation Society Doddridge Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture most endangered historic places Renaissance Revival Architecture Naturalistic Architecture Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Benton Arkansas Burdette Plantation "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Phillips County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Dionicio Rodriguez Destination Downtown Conference Helena Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History historic Arkansas properties Marked Tree Lock and Siphons 13th Amendment Flood Control Cumberland Presbyterian Church steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Register of Historic Places Little Rock Central High School Louisiana Main Street program Nevada County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum cemetery preservsation Henry Koen Office Building free historic preservation workshop Camden Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History cemetery preservation Sunken Lands Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Searcy Rustic Architecture African American education Bogg Springs Hotel Tolbert Gill Abolition of Slavery Buffalo National River Real Estate Transfer Tax Forrest City Cemetery Downtown Revitalization Grants Fayetteville Arkansas Prairie County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Newton County Arkansas Rosenwald Schools U.S. Forest Service Civilian Conservation Corps Camden Public Library North Little Rock Arkansas Gothic Revival architecture Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Huntsville Commercial Historic District County courthouse Restoration Grants slipcover removal grants Folk Victorian Architecture News Release Main Street Texarkana Main Street Arkansas downtown revitalization Freedom Park Civil Works Administration historic resort communities free teacher resources U.S. Army Corps of Engineers free history tours Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Freedmen's Bureau Huntsville Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Main Street Siloam Springs Historic County Courthouses Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas religious history Pulaski County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Evelyn Gill Walker House Bogg Springs Arkansas Walks Through History National Historic Landmark Pike County Courthouse Madison County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas History Turner Restoration historic architecture Centennial Baptist Church National Register of Historic Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Design Network Leake-Ingham Building Duck Hunting Perry County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Art Deco Architecture Three States Lumber Company Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Ozark Farming Pike County Arkansas