Our Lady of the Ozarks

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Monday, June 17, 2019


In 1954 approximately 3,000 people are reported to have made a pilgrimage to a remote shrine in the heart of the Boston Mountains. This shrine is located in Winslow at Our Lady of the Ozarks, a Catholic mission/shrine founded in 1944 on land donated by Miss Clara Muxen, a nun who relocated to the Ozarks with her family from Iowa. In May of 2019, 75 years after being founded, Our Lady of the Ozarks was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. This listing will help to preserve this unique landmark nestled in the Ozarks for pilgrims, worshipers, and tourists into the future. 

“The shrine of Our Lady in the picturesque Boston Mountain range between Fort Smith and Fayetteville, has long been a place of pilgrimage for both Arkansans and out-of-state visitors,” The Guardian, 1963. 

Muxen’s gifts went beyond land. She provided ornamentation for the church which led to its designation as a shrine. What sets a shrine apart from a regular church, according to Catholic Church canon, is a shrine is a sacred place approved by a bishop and visited by pilgrims. There are several key sculptures on the property including Saint Therese The Little Flower, Christ Crucified, Christ Resurrected, and Saint Anthony de Padua. 

Muxen named the mission Our Lady of the Ozarks in honor of The Virgin of the Smile, a statue inspired by the story of Saint Therese, a 19th century youth from Lisieux, France, who was cured of illness by a vision of Mary who appeared to her and smiled. Saint Therese is the Patroness of Missions so it is fitting that her story be interwoven into that of this mission. The statue of The Virgin of the Smile was created by DePrato Studios in Chicago and can still be seen at the site today.
Before the construction of Our Lady of the Ozarks, Catholics in the Boston Mountain region of northwest Arkansas had little access to church services. After an effort by local women to organize a parish, the Diocese of Little Rock formed Our Lady of the Ozarks and parishioners established a small mission near Winslow. In 1944, the parish began building the current native stone church and established a Marian (Mother Mary) statue on the front lawn. Over a two-year period, the parish added more statues to the grounds and finished the original plans for the church. Bishop Alfred Morris officially dedicated the shrine in August of 1946.

Since its inception as the first Marian shrine in Arkansas, Our Lady of the Ozarks has remained a prominent shrine and has served as an annual destination for Catholic pilgrims. 

You can view video from the 1949 pilgrimage event at Our Lady of the Ozarks at: 

Sources: National Register Nomination Form authored by Ralph Wilcox and


Recent Posts


Arkansas Humanities Council Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Booneville Arkansas Art Deco Architecture free history tours Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Duck Hunting Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Poinsett County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Craftsman style architecture Skillern House Helena Arkansas slipcover removal grants Marked Tree Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Rosenwald Schools historic architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Free Courthouse Poster National Register of Historic Trail of Tears in Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Mississippi County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Monroe County Arkansas Turner Restoration Forrest City Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Wingmead steel window restoration workshop Burdette Plantation Pope County Courthouse most endangered historic places Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot National Historic Landmark Booneville Historical Preservation Society Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Register of Historic Places Huntsville Commercial Historic District Rosston Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Cumberland Presbyterian Church Kiblah School North Little Rock Arkansas free teacher resources African American education Main Street Dumas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Newton County Arkansas International-Style Architecture Abolition of Slavery County courthouse Restoration Grants Destination Downtown Conference Dr. Ruth Hawkins Erbie Arkansas Arkansas Design Network downtown economic development Main Street Siloam Springs Barney Elias House Centennial Baptist Church Let Freedom Ring historic telephone booth Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Morrilton Arkansas Arkansas Business History Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Bogg Springs Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Monsanto Chemical Corporation Burdette Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas historic resort communities Sandwiching in History Paris Arkansas Civilian Conservation Corps 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Louisiana Main Street program Sunken Lands Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Roe Arkansas 13th Amendment Arkansas History Conway County Library Pope County Arkansas News Release American Legion Monroe County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center U.S. Forest Service Main Street Texarkana cemetery preservation Ouachita County Arkansas Buffalo National River Leake-Ingham Building Polk County Arkansas downtown revitalization Main Street Searcy Tudor Revival Architecture Prairie County Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Arkansas religious history Montgomery County Courthouse Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Ozark Farming New Century Club of Camden Gothic Revival architecture Edgar Monsanto Queeny Civil Works Administration Elias Camp Morris Perry County Arkansas Freedom Park Camden Public Library Pike County Courthouse Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Rustic Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Main Street Ozark Downtown Revitalization Grants free historic preservation workshop Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Arkansas Preservation Awards Folk Victorian Architecture Dionicio Rodriguez Mid-Century Modern Architecture Montgomery County Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic County Courthouses Evelyn Gill Walker House Houston Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Free Lesson Plan Main Street Batesville Miller County cemetery preservsation National Register of Historic Places Benton Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Camden Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Tolbert Gill Flood Control Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas Railroad History Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Walks Through History White County Courthouse Madison County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Mississippi Main Street Association