Prairie Grove Telephone Booth Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, November 20, 2015

LITTLE ROCK—The Prairie Grove Airlight Outdoor Telephone Booth at Prairie Grove in Washington County has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Director Frances McSwain announced today.

The Prairie Grove Airlight Outdoor Telephone Booth, located on the southwest corner of East Douglas and Parker streets, was built around1960 and features aluminum and glass construction.

“The Prairie Grove Airlight Outdoor Telephone Booth represented a new direction in the design of telephone booths,” according to the National Register nomination. “Instead of wooden booths that were found inside hotels, drug stores, or other businesses in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, the Airlight Outdoor Telephone Booth was developed specifically for outdoor use. Its aluminum and glass construction was durable enough to stand up to the elements and the amount of glass along with the louvers on the sides allowed its namesake elements – air and light – to flood the booth.”

For more information on the National Register of Historic Places program, write the AHPP at 1500 Tower Building, 323 Center St., Little Rock, AR 72201, call the agency at (501) 324-9880 [TDD 501-324-9811], send e-mail to [email protected] or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council White County Courthouse Houston Arkansas Delta Cultural Center downtown economic development Main Street Texarkana Huntsville Commercial Historic District African American education North Little Rock Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation New Century Club of Camden American Legion Ouachita County Arkansas cemetery preservation Main Street Batesville Let Freedom Ring Newton County Arkansas Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum U.S. Forest Service Arkansas religious history Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Humanities Council Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Dumas Civilian Conservation Corps Mid-Century Modern Architecture 19th Century Road Construction steel window restoration workshop downtown revitalization Sandwiching in History Camden Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Arkansas Business History Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Perry County Arkansas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Trail of Tears in Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Erbie Arkansas Helena Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Monroe County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas Sunken Lands Skillern House Gothic Revival architecture Pope County Courthouse Dr. Ruth Hawkins Evelyn Gill Walker House Camden Public Library Benton Arkansas Main Street Ozark Pope County Arkansas historic resort communities Civil Works Administration slipcover removal grants Miller County Freedom Park Folk Victorian Architecture Burdette Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Rosston Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 13th Amendment Main Street Arkansas Craftsman style architecture free history tours Monroe County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School Arkansas Register of Historic Places Nevada County Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Pike County Courthouse Turner Restoration Real Estate Transfer Tax Leake-Ingham Building Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Madison County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Pike County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Saline County Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas most endangered historic places Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Historic Preservation Alliance Burdette Plantation Rustic Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Tudor Revival Architecture National Historic Landmark Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Wingmead Duck Hunting News Release Fayetteville Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans National Register of Historic Places Arkansas Design Network Main Street Siloam Springs Rosenwald Schools Montgomery County Courthouse Arkansas History Tolbert Gill Marked Tree Arkansas Kiblah School Morrilton Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Bogg Springs Hotel Louisiana Main Street program Elias Camp Morris Bogg Springs Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau International-Style Architecture St. Francis County Historical Society Prairie County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Booneville Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Huntsville Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Ozark Farming County courthouse Restoration Grants Polk County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas African American Civil War History Arkansas Railroad History Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Searcy Barney Elias House Paris Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Historic County Courthouses Conway County Library Arkansas Preservation Awards historic architecture Flood Control Art Deco Architecture Buffalo National River Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Russellville Arkansas Free Lesson Plan National Register of Historic Three States Lumber Company historic telephone booth Walks Through History Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Naturalistic Architecture Roe Arkansas Abolition of Slavery free teacher resources historic Arkansas properties Mississippi County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Centennial Baptist Church Henry Koen Office Building