Sandwiching in History to Tour Alternate Location: Second Presbyterian Church

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Wednesday, February 14, 2018

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit Second Presbyterian Church at 600 Pleasant Valley Drive in Little Rock at noon on Friday, March 2.

The March tour was originally scheduled for the Block Realty-Couch House, but the location had to be changed because of unforeseen circumstances.

Founded in 1882, Second Presbyterian Church is the state’s largest Presbyterian congregation. The current building, the congregation’s third, was built in 1968 and dedicated in 1969 and designed by the noted Little Rock firm of Wittenberg, Delony, and Davidson. The building was erected in West Little Rock because of the westward expansion of the city after World War II, and because the congregation’s members were no longer concentrated near downtown. Neil Hamill Park, the state’s first professionally-trained landscape architect, also completed a landscape plan for the campus, although little of the plan was ultimately carried out.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be held April 6, Dr. Charles Kennedy House, 6 Edenwood Lane, North Little Rock; May 4, Lake Nixon, 18500 Cooper Orbit Road, Little Rock; June 1, Maumelle Ordnance Works Bunker #4, 4 Willastein Drive, Maumelle; July 6, William E. Woodruff House, 1017 East Eighth Street, Little Rock; August 3, National Old Line Building, 501 Woodlane Street, Little Rock; September 7, Matthews-Storey House, 8115 Ascension Lane, Little Rock; October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall, 615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Mid-Century Modern Architecture Centennial Baptist Church Saline County Arkansas cemetery preservation Camden to Washington Road Arkansas Preservation Awards Dionicio Rodriguez Burdette Arkansas Newton County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Flood Control Burdette Plantation North Little Rock Arkansas 13th Amendment Free Courthouse Poster U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Abolition of Slavery Kiblah School Arkansas Business History Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Pike County Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Booneville Arkansas slipcover removal grants Bogg Springs Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Montgomery County Arkansas Sunken Lands Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Destination Downtown Conference Duck Hunting Historic County Courthouses Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Edgar Monsanto Queeny Wingmead Barney Elias House free teacher resources Cumberland Presbyterian Church Ozark Farming free history tours Houston Arkansas Skillern House Rosston Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Little Rock Central High School Rustic Architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Let Freedom Ring Pulaski County Courthouse Miller County historic resort communities Morrilton Arkansas News Release Fayetteville Arkansas cemetery preservsation Pope County Arkansas Three States Lumber Company Helena Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites American Legion National Register of Historic Places Henry Koen Office Building Gothic Revival architecture Doddridge Arkansas Historic Preservation Alliance Monsanto Chemical Corporation downtown revitalization most endangered historic places Monroe County Arkansas Civil Works Administration Real Estate Transfer Tax Russellville Arkansas Main Street Dumas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Register of Historic Places 19th Century Road Construction Camden Public Library Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Mississippi Main Street Association Roe Arkansas Arkansas History Main Street Texarkana Forrest City Cemetery Madison County Arkansas Arkansas religious history historic Arkansas properties National Register of Historic Bogg Springs Hotel Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Clarendon Arkansas Conway County Library Forrest City Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Paris Arkansas National Historic Landmark Nevada County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Craftsman style architecture Main Street Siloam Springs African American education Booneville Historical Preservation Society historic architecture Pope County Courthouse Main Street Ozark Main Street Searcy Arkansas Humanities Council Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Benton Arkansas International-Style Architecture Civilian Conservation Corps "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Free Lesson Plan Camden Arkansas historic telephone booth Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Downtown Revitalization Grants downtown economic development Evelyn Gill Walker House Naturalistic Architecture Rosenwald Schools Monroe County Courthouse Trail of Tears in Arkansas Turner Restoration Main Street Batesville Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Buffalo National River New Century Club of Camden Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Mississippi County Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Tolbert Gill Tudor Revival Architecture Main Street Arkansas Sandwiching in History Leake-Ingham Building Renaissance Revival Architecture County courthouse Restoration Grants Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Erbie Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Freedmen's Bureau Dr. Ruth Hawkins Walks Through History Art Deco Architecture Prairie County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas White County Courthouse steel window restoration workshop Louisiana Main Street program Polk County Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Pike County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Railroad History Freedom Park Arkansas History Lesson Plans Arkansas Design Network