Sandwiching in History to Visit National Old Line Building

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, July 20, 2018

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit the National Old Line Building at 501 Woodlane Street in Little Rock at noon on Friday, August 3.

The National Old Line Building is regarded as the largest and best example of International-style architecture in the state of Arkansas. Designed by architect Yandell Johnson, the National Old Line Insurance Building was built in 1955 with an addition in 1965. Once home to Arkansas’s former governor Winthrop Rockefeller, the National Old Line Insurance Building stands as an icon of Modern architecture in the capital city.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be September 7, Matthews-Storey House, 8115 Ascension Lane, Little Rock; October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall,615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


U.S. Army Corps of Engineers White County Courthouse Main Street Texarkana Burdette Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Ozark Farming Monroe County Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Roe Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Downtown Revitalization Grants Booneville Historical Preservation Society Montgomery County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Renaissance Revival Architecture 13th Amendment Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops County courthouse Restoration Grants Gothic Revival architecture Arkansas Railroad History Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Main Street Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Madison County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Louisiana Main Street program Benton Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Flood Control Edgar Monsanto Queeny Booneville Arkansas Erbie Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Free Courthouse Poster American Legion U.S. Forest Service Sandwiching in History Pulaski County Courthouse Abolition of Slavery Historic Preservation Alliance Rosenwald Schools Main Street Dumas Doddridge Arkansas Helena Arkansas Skillern House International-Style Architecture Russellville Arkansas Forrest City Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum free history tours Montgomery County Courthouse Centennial Baptist Church Art Deco Architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins free teacher resources Buffalo National River Trail of Tears in Arkansas Freedom Park Fayetteville Arkansas Rustic Architecture Camden to Washington Road Destination Downtown Conference "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Cemetery Preservation Library Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Clarendon Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Let Freedom Ring Folk Victorian Architecture Polk County Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Tudor Revival Architecture Wingmead Turner Restoration Dionicio Rodriguez Arkansas Design Network Kiblah School Burdette Plantation St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas religious history Main Street Ozark Duck Hunting African American education 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Sunken Lands Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Camden Public Library Pike County Arkansas downtown economic development Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Civil Works Administration Saline County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Tolbert Gill Arkansas History Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Register of Historic Places Monsanto Chemical Corporation Evelyn Gill Walker House Conway County Library Main Street Searcy Monroe County Courthouse cemetery preservsation Forrest City Cemetery historic architecture Ouachita County Arkansas historic telephone booth Civilian Conservation Corps Perry County Arkansas Phillips County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Historic County Courthouses Little Rock Central High School Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South News Release Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Henry Koen Office Building Huntsville Commercial Historic District Arkansas History Lesson Plans Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Business History Camden Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Mid-Century Modern Architecture Main Street Siloam Springs Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Paris Arkansas Rosston Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau slipcover removal grants Marked Tree Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Three States Lumber Company National Historic Landmark Bogg Springs Hotel Arkansas African American Civil War History Mississippi Main Street Association Prairie County Arkansas Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut historic resort communities Bogg Springs Arkansas New Century Club of Camden Pike County Courthouse historic Arkansas properties Walks Through History Craftsman style architecture Morrilton Arkansas Elias Camp Morris most endangered historic places Main Street Batesville Cumberland Presbyterian Church National Register of Historic Nevada County Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas Preservation Awards cemetery preservation Arkansas Historic Preservation Mississippi County Arkansas Barney Elias House Houston Arkansas Pope County Arkansas downtown revitalization Miller County Newton County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop Huntsville Arkansas