Sandwiching in History to Visit Woodruff House

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, June 22, 2018

LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Sandwiching in History” tour will visit William E. Woodruff House at 1017 East Eight Street in Little Rock at noon on Friday, July 6.

William E. Woodruff, founder and longtime editor of the Arkansas Gazette, and his wife, Jane Eliza Woodruff, had eleven children, eight of whom survived to adulthood. In the spring of 1852 Woodruff sought an area in the country where he could have a small farm and his children could play, so he bought about 25 acres east of downtown.He hired local builder John Robins to construct a large house of locally-made bricks. The family occupied the house from 1886-1891, when the home was sold out of the family. By 1930 the Woodruff House was the Colonial Club for Business Girls, and it remained a boarding house or apartments until 2005, when it sustained fire damage.It has been vacant since then. In 2014, the Quapaw Quarter Association purchased the property with aid from the State of Arkansas and the City of Little Rock. The QQA is seeking a buyer with the interest and capacity to rehabilitate the landmark. The Woodruff House was listed on the National Register of Historic Places on March 21, 1989.

The “Sandwiching in History” tour series targets Pulaski County structures and sites. The noontime series includes a brief lecture and tour of the subject property. Participants are encouraged to bring their lunches with them. The American Institute of Architects offers one HSW continuing education learning unit credit for members who attend a “Sandwiching in History” tour.

Other 2018 “Sandwiching in History” tours will be August 3, National Old Line Building, 501 Woodlane Street, Little Rock; September 7, Matthews-Storey House, 8115 Ascension Lane, Little Rock; October 5, Rock Island Argenta Depot, 1201 East Fourth Street, North Little Rock; November 2, Mary H. Matthews Lustron House, 5021 Maryland Avenue, Little Rock, and December 7, Curran Hall,615 East Capitol Avenue, Little Rock.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, or send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage division responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


Booneville Historical Preservation Society Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Perry County Arkansas Free Courthouse Poster White County Courthouse Freedom Park Main Street Batesville Main Street Dumas Pope County Arkansas Arkansas Business History Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Paris Arkansas Main Street Ozark Miller County Arkansas African American Civil War History Pope County Courthouse County courthouse Restoration Grants Conway County Library American Legion Pike County Arkansas Main Street Searcy Arkansas State University Heritage Sites slipcover removal grants historic telephone booth Flood Control steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Arkansas Historic Preservation Program 19th Century Road Construction Edgar Monsanto Queeny downtown revitalization Camden Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Historic Preservation Restoration Grants cemetery preservation Montgomery County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Naturalistic Architecture Newton County Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Pike County Courthouse Ozark Farming Benton Arkansas Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Register of Historic Places Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Elias Camp Morris historic Arkansas properties historic resort communities Free Lesson Plan Rustic Architecture New Century Club of Camden Arkansas Historic Preservation Camden to Washington Road most endangered historic places Doddridge Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Art Deco Architecture Helena Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Gothic Revival architecture Civilian Conservation Corps National Historic Landmark Arkansas Railroad History Monroe County Courthouse Centennial Baptist Church Erbie Arkansas cemetery preservsation Craftsman style architecture Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Saline County Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture Walks Through History free history tours Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Leake-Ingham Building 13th Amendment Cemetery Preservation Library Let Freedom Ring Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council downtown economic development Bogg Springs Hotel Phillips County Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Buffalo National River Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas History Lesson Plans Pulaski County Courthouse Prairie County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Tolbert Gill Monsanto Chemical Corporation Main Street Siloam Springs Three States Lumber Company Burdette Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Arkansas History Bogg Springs Arkansas Duck Hunting Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum historic architecture Forrest City Arkansas Huntsville Commercial Historic District Russellville Arkansas U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Polk County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Downtown Revitalization Grants Booneville Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Abolition of Slavery Sandwiching in History Camden Public Library Forrest City Cemetery Mid-Century Modern Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance Real Estate Transfer Tax Madison County Arkansas News Release Houston Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Main Street Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Civil Works Administration Rosenwald Schools Tudor Revival Architecture Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Trail of Tears in Arkansas Turner Restoration free teacher resources Ouachita County Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas International-Style Architecture Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 U.S. Forest Service Barney Elias House Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Nevada County Arkansas African American education Little Rock Central High School Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Skillern House Huntsville Arkansas Louisiana Main Street program Roe Arkansas North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Texarkana Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Destination Downtown Conference Mississippi County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Kiblah School Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas religious history Poinsett County Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Design Network St. Francis County Historical Society Burdette Plantation Dr. Ruth Hawkins Wingmead Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Rosston Arkansas Sunken Lands National Register of Historic