Save America's Treasures Grants Available

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, January 09, 2018

The National Park Service in partnership with the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the National Endowment for the Arts, and the National Endowment for the Humanities is now accepting applications for $5 million in matching grants to support the preservation of nationally significant historic properties and collections through the Save America’s Treasures program. The Save America’s Treasures program was established by in 1998. In 2014, the American Architectural Foundation (AAF) became the official nonprofit partner of the Save America’s Treasures program.


The program requires applicants to raise project funds from other sources to “match” the grant money, which is awarded after a competitive review of project proposals. Grantees must provide dollar-for-dollar match, meaning for each federal dollar put towards the project, at least one non-federal dollar must also be used. Buildings and collections which have previously received Saving America’s Treasures grants are not eligible to receive a second grant for the same building or collection.


Save America’s Treasures has assisted more than 300 National Historic Landmarks (NHL), 28 properties contributing to NHL historic districts, over 250 buildings individually listed in the National Register of Historic Places, over 70 properties contributing to National Register historic districts, as well as hundreds of nationally-significant collections in museums across the country.


The Save America’s Treasures program is funded using revenue from Outer Continental Shelf oil releases, not tax dollars. The program began in 1999 and has leveraged over $315 million in federal appropriations to attract $377 million in private investment to help communities preserve nationally significant properties and collections across the country, creating more than 16,000 jobs along the way.


Eligible projects include the conservation of collections and physical preservation work to historic buildings. All projects must be nationally significant; meaning listed as National Historic Landmarks or at the national level of significance in the National Register of Historic Places, or a case made for a collection’s national significance.


The deadline for applications is February 21, 2018 (11:59 p.m., EST). More information, including grant application materials, is available on the grant program website at

Recent Posts


downtown revitalization Centennial Baptist Church Flood Control Arkansas Business History Marked Tree Arkansas Little Rock Central High School steel window restoration workshop Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Main Street Ozark Pope County Arkansas Camden Public Library Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Ouachita County Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Phillips County Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Main Street Texarkana Forrest City Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation Rosston Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Arkansas Design Network downtown economic development Destination Downtown Conference Booneville Historical Preservation Society U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Dionicio Rodriguez Saline County Arkansas Wingmead Erbie Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas historic telephone booth Camden Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Bogg Springs Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society historic Arkansas properties Arkansas religious history Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Trail of Tears in Arkansas free historic preservation workshop Rustic Architecture Pope County Courthouse Sandwiching in History Morrilton Arkansas Delta Cultural Center National Register of Historic Places Buffalo National River Newton County Arkansas 13th Amendment Folk Victorian Architecture Arkansas History Pulaski County Courthouse Skillern House free history tours Main Street Dumas Montgomery County Courthouse Monroe County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas Tolbert Gill North Little Rock Arkansas Kiblah School Cemetery Preservation Library American Legion Abolition of Slavery Craftsman style architecture Arkansas State University Heritage Sites historic resort communities International-Style Architecture Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Batesville slipcover removal grants Monroe County Courthouse Nevada County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Booneville Arkansas Art Deco Architecture African American education Polk County Arkansas historic architecture Conway County Library Doddridge Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Let Freedom Ring Houston Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 News Release Poinsett County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Marked Tree Lock and Siphons U.S. Forest Service Miller County Huntsville Commercial Historic District Turner Restoration Louisiana Main Street program Downtown Revitalization Grants Rosenwald Schools free teacher resources Renaissance Revival Architecture Walks Through History Burdette Arkansas most endangered historic places Pike County Courthouse Historic County Courthouses Edgar Monsanto Queeny Main Street Searcy Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Mississippi Main Street Association Barney Elias House Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Naturalistic Architecture Freedom Park Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Pike County Arkansas Arkansas History Lesson Plans Free Courthouse Poster Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas African American Civil War History Civilian Conservation Corps Tudor Revival Architecture Ozark Farming Three States Lumber Company Cumberland Presbyterian Church Madison County Arkansas White County Courthouse Fayetteville Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Prairie County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Sunken Lands County courthouse Restoration Grants Huntsville Arkansas Burdette Plantation Roe Arkansas Helena Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Real Estate Transfer Tax Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas Preservation Awards Freedmen's Bureau Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Register of Historic Places cemetery preservation Camden to Washington Road Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Benton Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Leake-Ingham Building Civil Works Administration New Century Club of Camden Elias Camp Morris Paris Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Clarendon Arkansas National Register of Historic Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Gothic Revival architecture Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola National Historic Landmark Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Arkansas Humanities Council Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Duck Hunting