Three Arkansas Properties Listed on National Register of Historic Places

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, July 07, 2017

LITTLE ROCK—The Henley-Riley Houses and Rumph Mortuary at El Dorado in Union County and a Clay County commercial building have been listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the country’s official list of historically significant properties.

The Henley-Riley Houses at 2523 and 2525 Calion Road were built in 1959-61 and designed by noted Arkansas architect E. Fay Jones.

“The Henley-Riley Houses, through the attention to detail and elements of E. Fay Jones’ signature style, are an excellent example of Jones’ work in the mid twentieth-century,” according to the National Register nomination. “The organic elements common to Jones’ designs include low sloping rooflines, use of exterior and interior space and materials to create a sense of connectedness with the outside and a sense of open space. The district contains residences, two objects, and a pavilion designed by Jones.”

The Rumph Mortuary at 312 West Oak Street was built in 1927 and designed in the Gothic Revival style of architecture.

“The Rumph Mortuary exhibits several characteristics of the Gothic Revival style, and represents a rare commercial example of the style,” the National Register nomination says. “For example, the flat roof of the building is sheltered by a castellated parapet. The windows on the front of the building, and in the side chapel, exhibit the Gothic arch shape that was common to the style. In addition, the front entry also exhibits the Gothic arch, and the windows and entrance on the front façade are also highlighted by the cast-concrete detailing that approximates stone.”

The building at 401 Main Street in the Rector Commercial Historic District at Rector in Clay County, built in 1910 also was listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

“In the original nomination for the Rector Commercial Historic District, the Building at 401 South Main Street was considered to be non-contributing to the district, due to the fact that the west and north façades were covered in vinyl siding,” according to the National Register nomination. “However, the building should now be considered to be a contributing resource. A recent project using Historic Preservation Restoration Grant funds through the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program renovated the property, which included removing the siding and restoring the building’s original north and west façades. As a result, the building is considered to be a contributing resource in the Rector Commercial Historic District.”

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


most endangered historic places free historic preservation workshop Main Street Arkansas 13th Amendment Centennial Baptist Church downtown economic development Bogg Springs Hotel Monsanto Chemical Corporation Let Freedom Ring County courthouse Restoration Grants Main Street Searcy Turner Restoration Bogg Springs Arkansas Marked Tree Arkansas Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Freedmen's Bureau Montgomery County Arkansas Tolbert Gill Walks Through History Arkansas Historic Preservation Henry Koen Office Building Monroe County Courthouse Pope County Arkansas American Legion Folk Victorian Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Pike County Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Madison County Arkansas free teacher resources International-Style Architecture slipcover removal grants Cumberland Presbyterian Church Paris Arkansas Camden Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Booneville Historical Preservation Society Rustic Architecture historic resort communities Edgar Monsanto Queeny Arkansas religious history Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South North Little Rock Arkansas Poinsett County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas Little Rock Central High School News Release Russellville Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs African American education 19th Century Road Construction Kiblah School steel window restoration workshop Camden Public Library Real Estate Transfer Tax Doddridge Arkansas National Historic Landmark New Century Club of Camden Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Mississippi Main Street Association historic telephone booth Rosston Arkansas Ouachita County Arkansas Evelyn Gill Walker House Civil Works Administration Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Renaissance Revival Architecture Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Flood Control Craftsman style architecture Arkansas Business History Downtown Revitalization Grants Free Lesson Plan Perry County Arkansas Cemetery Preservation Library Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Montgomery County Courthouse Conway County Library Trail of Tears in Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Barney Elias House downtown revitalization cemetery preservation Mississippi County Arkansas Benton Arkansas Burdette Arkansas Dr. Ruth Hawkins Prairie County Arkansas Morrilton Arkansas Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Arkansas History Huntsville Commercial Historic District Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Clarendon Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History Sandwiching in History Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Texarkana Phillips County Arkansas Dionicio Rodriguez Louisiana Main Street program Nevada County Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Duck Hunting Main Street Ozark Tudor Revival Architecture Houston Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Polk County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Pike County Courthouse Delta Cultural Center Fayetteville Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Art Deco Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Historic County Courthouses Erbie Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery Roe Arkansas Burdette Plantation Main Street Batesville Ozark Farming U.S. Forest Service Abolition of Slavery Miller County Civilian Conservation Corps Sunken Lands Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Mosaic Templars Cultural Center cemetery preservsation St. Francis County Historical Society Wingmead White County Courthouse Newton County Arkansas Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Arkansas Register of Historic Places Gothic Revival architecture National Register of Historic Arkansas History Lesson Plans Mid-Century Modern Architecture Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Destination Downtown Conference Arkansas Design Network Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Saline County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Three States Lumber Company Leake-Ingham Building Freedom Park historic architecture Arkansas Humanities Council Historic Preservation Alliance Buffalo National River Pulaski County Courthouse Forrest City Arkansas Pope County Courthouse Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District free history tours Free Courthouse Poster Main Street Dumas Rosenwald Schools Skillern House