Updated National Register Listings

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Tuesday, October 08, 2019


The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP) announces the addition of 10 new National Register of Historic Places sites. The register, administered by the National Park Service, is the country's official list of historically significant sites worthy of preservation. Eligible listings include historic districts, sites, buildings, structures and objects that are significant in American history, architecture, archeology, engineering and culture.

“We are pleased to bring another collection of quality properties to the National Register of Historic Places,” said Stacy Hurst, who serves as the state historic preservation officer as well as the cabinet secretary for Parks, Heritage and Tourism. “Arkansas’s transportation history is compelling, so I’m especially pleased with the listings of the Point Remove Creek Bridge and the Magnolia Service Station. I encourage everyone to take a road trip and explore our amazing state. A great place to start is by searching the National Register listings on our website for locations near you.”National Register listings can be found by county here:

Properties added to the National Register of Historic Places include:

  • Community Mausoleum, Elmwood Cemetery
    1148 W. Church St.
    Conway County, Morrilton
  • Elmwood Cemetery Historic Section
    W. of AR 113 and W. Church St. intersection
    Conway County, Morrilton
  • Point Remove Creek Bridge
    Old Arkansas Highway 113 over Point Remove Creek
    Conway County, Morrilton
  • Army & Navy Memorial Lodge
    570 Jobs Corps Rd.
    Garland County, Royal
  • Bransford, J. M., House
    506 S. Center St.
    Lonoke County, Lonoke
  • Faubus, Orval E., House
    640 Governors Rd.
    Madison County, Huntsville
  • Grey, William H., Gravesite
    108 Wire St.
    Phillips County, Helena-West Helena
  • Magnolia Service Station
    3023 W. 7th St.
    Pulaski County, Little Rock
  • Waldron School Historic District
    403 and 429 W. 5th St.
    Scott County, Waldron
  • Tweedy-Puntch House
    1411 W. Emma Ave.
    Washington County, Springdale

“The Faubus House in Huntsville was a particularly enjoyable listing to share as it was designed by E. Fay Jones, a protégée of Frank Lloyd Wright,” explains Director of the AHPP Scott Kaufman. “Jones is highly regarded as the preeminent architect in Arkansas, designing the famed Thorncrown Chapel in Eureka Springs as well as many other buildings including homes, businesses, pavilions and more. His name lives on at the Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design at the University of Arkansas.”

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program (AHPP), the division of Arkansas Heritage responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other divisions are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism.



Recent Posts


Pulaski County Courthouse Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Historic Preservation Program historic Arkansas properties Centennial Baptist Church Arkansas Register of Historic Places Cemetery Preservation Library White County Courthouse free historic preservation workshop Burdette Plantation Morrilton Arkansas Montgomery County Courthouse Civilian Conservation Corps historic telephone booth Main Street Texarkana Gothic Revival architecture St. Francis County Historical Society Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission National Historic Landmark African American education North Little Rock Arkansas Arkansas State University Heritage Sites International-Style Architecture U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Pike County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Huntsville Commercial Historic District Main Street Arkansas slipcover removal grants Sandwiching in History Forrest City Cemetery Arkansas Humanities Council most endangered historic places Perry County Arkansas Henry Koen Office Building Flood Control Turner Restoration steel window restoration workshop Buffalo National River Abolition of Slavery Marked Tree Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau downtown revitalization American Legion Free Courthouse Poster Arkansas religious history Downtown Revitalization Grants Civil Works Administration Rosenwald Schools Tudor Revival Architecture Camden Public Library Arkansas History Lesson Plans Mississippi Main Street Association U.S. Forest Service Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Craftsman style architecture Evelyn Gill Walker House Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Erbie Arkansas Little Rock Central High School Forrest City Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South News Release Conway County Library historic architecture Miller County Booneville Historical Preservation Society Newton County Arkansas Barney Elias House Arkansas Business History Louisiana Main Street program Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut cemetery preservation Walks Through History Paris Arkansas Montgomery County Arkansas Sunken Lands Historic Preservation Alliance 13th Amendment free history tours Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Madison County Arkansas 19th Century Road Construction Doddridge Arkansas Destination Downtown Conference Main Street Dumas Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Pope County Arkansas Naturalistic Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Camden Arkansas Delta Cultural Center Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Bogg Springs Hotel Bogg Springs Arkansas free teacher resources New Century Club of Camden Free Lesson Plan Pike County Courthouse Camden to Washington Road County courthouse Restoration Grants Fayetteville Arkansas Freedom Park Skillern House Arkansas Historic Preservation Arkansas History Real Estate Transfer Tax Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Monroe County Courthouse Ouachita County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Art Deco Architecture Houston Arkansas Wingmead Rustic Architecture Duck Hunting Rosston Arkansas Edgar Monsanto Queeny Main Street Siloam Springs Renaissance Revival Architecture Burdette Arkansas 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Roe Arkansas Russellville Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Poinsett County Arkansas Arkansas Preservation Awards Main Street Batesville Main Street Searcy Trail of Tears in Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Kiblah School Clarendon Arkansas Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Folk Victorian Architecture Mississippi County Arkansas Polk County Arkansas Mid-Century Modern Architecture Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Helena Arkansas Let Freedom Ring Phillips County Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas Main Street Ozark Three States Lumber Company Dionicio Rodriguez Leake-Ingham Building Monroe County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History historic resort communities Saline County Arkansas Monsanto Chemical Corporation National Register of Historic downtown economic development Arkansas Design Network Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Ozark Farming Pope County Courthouse "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Dr. Ruth Hawkins Benton Arkansas National Register of Historic Places cemetery preservsation Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Tolbert Gill Prairie County Arkansas Huntsville Arkansas