Walks Through History to Visit Downtown Dumas

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, October 27, 2017

The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s next “Walks Through History” tour will visit the Dumas Commercial Historic District beginning at 11 a.m. on Saturday, November 11.

Dumas was established in 1904, after the St. Louis, Iron Mountain and Southern Railway was built through the farm of William Dumas. The town's oldest surviving commercial building, the Porter Grocery, was one of several built by David Porter between 1905 and 1938. The historic district includes eight noteworthy buildings, including the Merchants and Farmers Bank building, a Colonial Revival National Register-listed building designed by Charles L. Thompson. All of the buildings occupy a single city block of South Main Street, between Choctaw and Waterman Streets. Most of the buildings of interest were built in the 1920s, and are vernacular brick commercial buildings. The tour begins at the Merchant and Farmer’s Bank Building at Waterman and Main streets and is co-sponsored by Main Street Dumas.

In the “Walks Through History” program, which is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

The final 2017 “Walks Through History” tour will be December 9 at the El Dorado Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street El Dorado.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 1100 North Street, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected] or visit

The Walks Through History program is co-sponsored by the Arkansas Humanities Council, which seeks to promote the understanding, appreciation, and use of the humanities in Arkansas. The humanities include the study of history, literature, ethics, philosophy, language, and the various legal, cultural, religious, and folk traditions – past and present – that define the human condition.

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives.

Recent Posts


St. Francis County Historical Society Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Tolbert Gill Arkansas History White County Courthouse Phillips County Arkansas Perry County Arkansas cemetery preservsation Camden Arkansas Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Morrilton Arkansas Skillern House Sunken Lands Arkansas Preservation Awards Pope County Courthouse most endangered historic places Prairie County Arkansas Rustic Architecture 19th Century Road Construction Real Estate Transfer Tax Marked Tree Arkansas Camden to Washington Road Centennial Baptist Church Main Street Ozark Cemetery Preservation Library Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Montgomery County Courthouse Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Arkansas Register of Historic Places historic architecture Main Street Dumas Pulaski County Courthouse Clarendon Arkansas Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Tudor Revival Architecture 13th Amendment Gothic Revival architecture Cumberland Presbyterian Church Main Street Texarkana Burdette Arkansas Renaissance Revival Architecture free historic preservation workshop Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Freedom Park Forrest City Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Booneville Historical Preservation Society Barney Elias House Arkansas History Lesson Plans Miller County Roe Arkansas Rosenwald Schools historic Arkansas properties Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House Pike County Courthouse Civil Works Administration 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Craftsman style architecture Monroe County Arkansas steel window restoration workshop American Legion National Historic Landmark Walks Through History U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Turner Restoration Doddridge Arkansas Main Street Siloam Springs Let Freedom Ring National Register of Historic Three States Lumber Company Newton County Arkansas Mississippi County Arkansas National Register of Historic Places Mid-Century Modern Architecture North Little Rock Arkansas Buffalo National River Russellville Arkansas Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery Main Street Arkansas Art Deco Architecture Forrest City Cemetery Huntsville Commercial Historic District downtown economic development Houston Arkansas Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Main Street Batesville Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Paris Arkansas Saline County Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Pope County Arkansas Flood Control Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Kiblah School Montgomery County Arkansas Arkansas Railroad History African American education Abolition of Slavery Civilian Conservation Corps Destination Downtown Conference Duck Hunting historic resort communities Historic County Courthouses Main Street Searcy U.S. Forest Service historic telephone booth Elias Camp Morris Arkansas Humanities Council Arkansas Business History Henry Koen Office Building Benton Arkansas Arkansas African American Civil War History Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Monroe County Courthouse Camden Public Library Trail of Tears in Arkansas Folk Victorian Architecture downtown revitalization Evelyn Gill Walker House Erbie Arkansas cemetery preservation Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Louisiana Main Street program free history tours Free Lesson Plan Little Rock Central High School Bogg Springs Arkansas Arkansas Design Network Fayetteville Arkansas Nevada County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Pike County Arkansas New Century Club of Camden News Release slipcover removal grants Conway County Library International-Style Architecture Dr. Ruth Hawkins Ozark Farming Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Delta Cultural Center free teacher resources Sandwiching in History Rosston Arkansas Bogg Springs Hotel Dionicio Rodriguez Historic Preservation Alliance Wingmead Arkansas religious history Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Edgar Monsanto Queeny Burdette Plantation Naturalistic Architecture Huntsville Arkansas Leake-Ingham Building Monsanto Chemical Corporation Ouachita County Arkansas Helena Arkansas Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Free Courthouse Poster Polk County Arkansas Booneville Arkansas Madison County Arkansas County courthouse Restoration Grants Poinsett County Arkansas