Walks Through History’ Tour Will Visit Downtown Benton

Arkansas Historic Preservation Program - Friday, March 06, 2015


LITTLE ROCK–The Arkansas Historic Preservation Program’s first “Walks Through History” tour of 2015 will visit the Benton Commercial Historic District on March 21, AHPP Director Frances McSwain announced today.

Anchored by the 1902 Charles Thompson-designed Saline County Courthouse, the district includes commercial-style buildings constructed during the early twentieth century, when Benton prospered due to the county’s abundance of natural resources like timber, clay and bauxite. The tour will begin at 11 a.m. at the Saline County Courthouse at 200 North Main Street. It is co-sponsored by the Saline County Library and the Saline County History and Heritage Society.

In the “Walks Through History” program, AHPP historians each month provide free guided walking tours of historic structures and districts across Arkansas. Most tours begin at 11 a.m. on Saturdays. The American Institute of Architects offers two HSW continuing education learning unit credits for members who attend a “Walks Through History” tour.

Other 2015 “Walks Through History” tours will be held April 11, West Memphis Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street West Memphis; May 16, Downtown Berryville, co-sponsored by the Carroll County Historical Society; June 13, Marianna Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by the Marianna/Lee County Chamber of Commerce and The Gladlands; July 18, Downtown Malvern, co-sponsored by the Malvern Downtown Development Corporation, Hot Spring County Museum and Hot Spring County Historical Society; August 15, Downtown Bradford, co-sponsored by the White County Historical Society; September 12, Titan II ICBM Launch Complex 374-7 Site at Southside (Van Buren County), co-sponsored by the Van Buren County Historical Society; October 10, Cane Hill (Washington County), co-sponsored by Historic Cane Hill; November 14, Batesville Commercial Historic District, co-sponsored by Main Street Batesville and the Batesville Preservation Association; and December 12, Washington Street Historic District, Camden, co-sponsored by the Ouachita County Historical Society.

All tours are free and open to the public. For information, call the AHPP at (501) 324-9880, write the agency at 323 Center St., Suite 1500, Little Rock, AR 72201, send an e-mail message to [email protected], or visit

The AHPP is the Department of Arkansas Heritage agency responsible for identifying, evaluating, registering and preserving the state’s cultural resources. Other agencies are the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission and the Historic Arkansas Museum.

Recent Posts


American Legion Cemetery Preservation Library Leake-Ingham Building Centennial Baptist Church Pike County Courthouse Civilian Conservation Corps Stearns/Gehring Chapel Cemetery downtown economic development Main Street Ozark Main Street Siloam Springs Clarendon Arkansas historic Arkansas properties Polk County Arkansas Doddridge Arkansas St. Francis County Historical Society Houston Arkansas Elias Camp Morris Historic Preservation Alliance Arkansas History Lesson Plans Erbie Arkansas Miller County Buffalo National River Arkansas Business History International-Style Architecture Let Freedom Ring Craftsman style architecture Main Street Texarkana Main Street Dumas Arkansas Railroad History most endangered historic places historic architecture White County Courthouse Huntsville Arkansas Sunken Lands Camden Public Library 13th Amendment Classroom Presentation Prairie County Arkansas downtown revitalization Arkansas religious history 13th Amendment Newton County Arkansas Carlisle Rock Island Railroad Depot Main Street Arkansas:Real Estate Transfer Tax Parker-Hickman Farm Historic District Burdette Plantation Morrilton Arkansas Madison County Arkansas Freedom Park Ouachita County Arkansas Historic County Courthouses Barney Elias House Delta Cultural Center Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission Burdette Arkansas Wingmead Folk Victorian Architecture Booneville Historical Preservation Society cemetery preservsation News Release Renaissance Revival Architecture Arkansas African American Civil War History Montgomery County Arkansas Cumberland Presbyterian Church Three States Lumber Company historic telephone booth Dr. Ruth Hawkins Ozark Farming Arkansas History Booneville Arkansas Tolbert Gill Perry County Arkansas Mississippi Main Street Association Arkansas Humanities Council Turner Restoration Rustic Architecture slipcover removal grants Bogg Springs Arkansas Tudor Revival Architecture Pulaski County Courthouse Montgomery County Courthouse Kiblah School Art Deco Architecture Naturalistic Architecture Phillips County Arkansas Real Estate Transfer Tax Marked Tree Arkansas Duck Hunting New Century Club of Camden Pope County Arkansas historic resort communities Arkansas Register of Historic Places Camden to Washington Road Conway County Library free teacher resources Central High School Neighborhood Historic District Monroe County Courthouse Destination Downtown Conference free historic preservation workshop Historic Preservation Restoration Grants Mississippi County Arkansas Little Rock Fire Station No. 2 Arkansas Design Network Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas Arkansas Historic Preservation Program Pope County Courthouse Free Cemetery Preservation Workshops Arkansas Natural and Cultural Resources Council Old U.S. Post Office and Customs House steel window restoration workshop Pike County Arkansas Flood Control Monroe County Arkansas Sandwiching in History Russellville Arkansas Forrest City Cemetery National Register of Historic Places Mississippi County Courthouse Osceola Freedmen's Bureau Arkansas Tuberculosis Sanatorium Museum Free Courthouse Poster Rosston Arkansas cemetery preservation Paris Arkansas U.S. Forest Service Civil Works Administration free history tours Estes-Williams Post #61 American Legion Hut Nevada County Arkansas Camden Arkansas Skillern House County courthouse Restoration Grants Louisiana Main Street program Huntsville Commercial Historic District Little Rock Central High School Benton Arkansas Helena Arkansas Roe Arkansas Houston Methodist Episcopal Church South Dionicio Rodriguez Rosenwald Schools U.S. Army Corps of Engineers African American education Monsanto Chemical Corporation Main Street Arkansas Fayetteville Arkansas Abolition of Slavery Gothic Revival architecture Saline County Arkansas "Let Freedom Ring" Travel Grants Mosaic Templars Cultural Center Evelyn Gill Walker House Main Street Batesville 19th Century Road Construction Mid-Century Modern Architecture Marked Tree Lock and Siphons Arkansas State University Heritage Sites Edgar Monsanto Queeny Henry Koen Office Building Arkansas Historic Preservation North Little Rock Arkansas Main Street Searcy Walks Through History Arkansas Preservation Awards Trail of Tears in Arkansas Downtown Revitalization Grants Forrest City Arkansas National Historic Landmark Poinsett County Arkansas Free Lesson Plan Bogg Springs Hotel National Register of Historic